You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: SILVER LINING #1

in #writing8 years ago

Oh wow! That's such a cool backstory! :D Who knew Rainbow Brite had the potential to be a star of a Christmas tale! Backing up your work is like the measles -- a harsh lesson that is better learned while you're younger. You should try to remember that and write it up! The plot already sounds compelling as it is!

I started "writing" when I was 6 years old (which is about the first grade as well!), though I enclosed it in quotes because I mostly did comics. I would fold oslo papers in half and stapled them, much like what you did haha I added characters to pre-existing comics at first, before moving on to create my own universes. I really wish my mother kept them, but alas they were thrown away. After that, I moved on to imagining them up and acting the scenes out (which is the foundation of A Day in the Clouds), but I didn't write them. I had such a bad penmanship that's why I was discouraged to put my thoughts on paper. My characters and worlds intersected and interacted with one another. I remembered every tiny detail. This was the part where people thought I had ADHD.

It was only during highschool when I first realized that I had a knack for words. An English teacher noticed it and urged me to cultivate it. Really though, I think I'm more of a natural storyteller than a writer :D

Sort:  

I got on again briefly because of someone I forgot and your message popped up:) When you say story teller, do you mean verbal? Because that is one thing I have never been good at, the words just do not flow from brain to mouth like they do through my fingertips.
I had terrible penmanship as well, in fact all through elementary school I had straight A's in every subject except Penmanship where I consistently received an angry C. They didn't start the whole add or adhd thing until I was much older, I'm sure they would have attempted to label me add at the very least. I took my kids out of school when they started pushing me to get my son diagnosed, talking about drugs, hell no! And he's no such thing, just a very bright, inquisitive mind who like any normal five year old (at the time) did not enjoy sitting still for long lengths of time.
I was fortunate with the whole penmanship thing though, my dad said it was "A sign of genius" as his handwriting was always poor, haha!!
Well I am definitely going to hit the hay now, talk later!

I meant storytelling in every sense of the word, a combination of all the media available. Speaking has never been (and will never be) my strong suit, but I consider it an integral part of storytelling, in the sense that taking a photo is telling a story or poetry doing the same thing.

We of the inquisitive variety would always be ostracized. I long for the day when that's not the case. When no one should ever be afraid to show off what they have in their beautiful minds. Kudos to you for not caving in to what society deems as "correct."

I suffered through the same thing! I was an honor student, but my penmanship almost held me back! After that was sorted out, Mathematics became the thorn that prevented me from getting any honors haha So I went on to take up Engineering in college haha! More on that next time. Have a good night's rest, my friend!

Engineering, wow! I also struggled with math...well actually not basic math, I excelled in that during the younger years, it wasn't until it took actual time and effort that I began to lag. Mostly for lack of interest, figuring out complex mathematical problems? Yawnnn. I could do it, but I didn't want to, haha! However when I went to college it was for Computer Science and programming, hahaha!! Kind of ironic for both of us. Though I didn't end up finishing. In fact I had enough credits for an associate's in humanities/social science and basically stopped there for a variety of life related reasons. It had initially been my intention to go back but other life related reasons changed my course, mostly helping my husband take over his uncle's businesses and then I found I preferred working in nature and writing on the side.

I started out in Engineering, finished all the basic stuff but shifted to ... Computer Science (!!!) just before I took the thesis, and I rolled with it into my professional career. I never grew into the role, and the math just became more confusing. Programming has always been a favorite hobby of mine ever since I was a kid and, even though I wouldn't say it comes naturally to me, I found it easy to understand algorithms and such. Since I was already doing everyone else's coding assignments, I thought why not make it a profession. I specialized in artificial intelligence, that's why I'm so attached to @ezzy's The Symbiotic Protocol! haha!

Nested, must write here ;) Okay, now we're getting downright spooky, haha! Although the path veered far off that course for me. Timing in life is such an odd thing, I think about it a lot. If his uncle had waited several years to retire, if we had already launched our careers (my husband had just finished the Pre-Chiropractic program and was heading to a Chiropractic college when we jumped off the academia ship) would we have chosen differently? Does it matter? Was it always going to turn out this way? -This is why I sleep so little, lol :)

Haha! The wandering mind is sleep's greatest nemesis. Yeah, timing really is everything. Had I not returned to Steemit when I did, I might not have stumbled upon @ezzy, which in turn would've led to us not stumbling upon each other in his epic's comments section. There's some merits about destiny and "what's meant to be will be," but the delicate balance that timing provides is so much more compelling! Chaos theory at its finest.

It's a bit further off but I actually studied (and practice) acupuncture, which is mentioned in the same breath as chiropractic here. But, that came way after my career in the corporate world stagnated.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59209.84
ETH 2659.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43