You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I Do Not Believe in God(s) - Why do you?

in #writing7 years ago

Excellent post; I thoroughly enjoyed reading it! I'm really not sure exactly what I am. I am spiritual but not religious. I believe in a higher power, but not in god(s). I do not believe that I'm Agnostic or Atheist, but I do believe in the power of nature ....... so as I said, I'm not exactly sure what I am. LOL.

Sort:  

Thank you =) ... It is interesting that you know that you DON'T know exactly what you are, hehe =) ... Most people actually don't, but are not aware of the fact. I guess it all comes down to the nature of this "higher power" you believe in, and what you mean by the "power" of nature. Perhaps you're a form of pantheist? =)

You give me so much to think about - thank you! I actually had to look up the meaning of "pantheist"; I've never heard of that. There are things that I can relate to, but certainly not the bulk of the meaning. I really don't like putting 'labels' on people for any reason ... I don't believe that we belong in little boxes neatly compacted and put on shelves, lol. Humans are such complicated beings; and we are our own worst enemies. Nature is so different - the energy of nature, whether it be other species, creatures, plants, the elements ... it works with itself and everything else - except humans, whose inherent characteristic is to dominate and destroy in order to force it to fit the human species desires. I really hate that about humans. We have yet to learn the true meaning of life and love, and I despair that we ever will. I can't explain "higher power" - it's just a feeling I have that there is something infinitely more evolved than humans will ever be. And I agree with another comment I read here ... that there is something 'out there' beyond us.

You give me so much to think about - thank you!

Hehehe... My pleasure, truly. I agree that labels are often not adequate when describing ourselves - but oh how we humans love them ;) ... The thing is, to have a meaningful conversation, we use labels all the time - every word we use is in fact a little "meaning box" that we use to convey our thoughts/experiences. I'm sure if we talked for long enough, we'd find that you are in fact part of some group that think exactly the way you do, and call themselves something ;P ...

I have to disagree with you about humans - to me, we are very much apart of nature, and just like any species would if given the chance, we are dominating the world around us. The key difference of course is our self-awareness and intelligence, which, for better or worse, has made us the dominant species on the planet. Also, you say we haven't yet learnt the true meaning of life and love... I'd encourage you to read Steven Pinker's "The Better Angels of Our Nature" as well as "Enlightenment Now".

As for a Higher Power - shrug ... I know the feeling you're talking about, truly. I've come to think that it is part of what we needed as a species... I've read a lot about evolution and its mechanisms and it seems belief in an unseen, all-seeing agency was selected for as it helped us survive.
Of course, this doesn't mean there isn't something there. It could be a god of some sort... Or aliens who've created us in an incredibly complex simulation. But how would we ever find out? I certainly can't simply believe that any one of these IS true. I'd be lying to myself.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59626.66
ETH 2519.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43