Write Club report: Half way to the finish line

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

Here's my report on how it's going in Write Club as of today, including behind-the-scenes gossip about my fellow writers.

desk-2158142_960_720.jpg
Image credit: Pixabay

This will be short because my fingers are itching to work on my Write Club story. In fact I'm doing one of those rare things I almost never do, which is to write directly into a Steemit post so I can hurry off to write the real stuff.

We're all comparing notes over on Discord about how we're progressing with our work in the first week of the first Write Club adventure. One writer completed a draft and is doing most of the work in the editing phase. Two or three are trying to prime the pump and get those words on the page. One overshot the mark by at least a few thousand words, I believe so that he has plenty to work with and can sculpt it to perfection.

And then there's me. I'm writing. I'm writing very methodically. I know where this story needs to go. I've written about 2500 words so far, and it feels like it's about half way. The rest is gestating and will make its way onto the page over the next few days. And then it's editing and polishing time.

I find it so interesting how everyone in the group is taking a completely different approach. We all started from the same prompt, and we are all writers. There the similarities stop. Eight people, 8 different approaches. And, unless someone unexpectedly bails, we will have 8 completed, polished, unique stories at the end of this two week sprint.

Until tomorrow.

If you are a writer seeking community and support, you can find editors to help you at The Writers’ Block on Discord.

jayna_gifsignature.gif

Sort:  

It's interesting to consider how the same prompt will result in widely varying stories. That's a good thing about writing, given that writers all have different backgrounds, likes, and ideas. Best of luck with your approach to completion on stage 1 of your challenge.

Thank you, @naquoya. It’s a fun journey, and the results will definitely be interesting. We are all hoping for 8 publishable stories out of this, which is the most exciting part. But that means we can’t publish them to Steemit, as many publishers won’t look at previously published work. But we can probably secretly share them with some of our special TWB friends. 😊

I know that when it's time for me to pursue publishing I will have to gold off from releasing that work here. So that makes sense that that is the case for this endeavour. Especially if the plan is to have work of a calibre that is good enough to publish. It would be great to see that occur. A big step for the writers involved, and even for Steemit in general.

I'm interesting in the "good for Steemit in general" idea. What are your thoughts? I would hope so. But my crystal ball is foggy at the moment. Do you have more thoughts on this, @naquoya?

I suppose the 'good for Steemit' part of it is in the general highlighting of the name and place. A marketing perspective more than anything else. Perhaps from there a larger community of writers (as well as fields) can flourish. Who knows. These are ideas, dreams. Implementation is another matter altogether.

I hope you too realize I was joking about going over the word limit :P
Thanks for updating the internet! Let's make magic 8)

Oh for goodness sakes. I always fall for your jokes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61430.70
ETH 3318.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49