You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: NOTES FROM AN AMATEUR WRITER #43 - Seeking a Community of Writers

in #writing7 years ago

Hi @naquoya. Yes, I think the study in writing was a great experience. I promptly became a technical writer and have had a long career that is only loosely related to my studies. But I have always loved fiction, and love to write, and am in awe and wonder at beautiful writing. It is very exciting to be returning to it again with the goal to master the craft and help others do the same.

You don’t need to formally study fiction writing through coursework to become an excellent writer. But the mechanics are important. I think most writers pick all of it up through writing workshops and involvement in writing groups, and doing what you’re going—continually practicing the art of storytelling. Good luck! I look forward to reading your work.

Sort:  

I too am in awe and wonder at beautiful writing. Story telling is foundational, but to be able to do it with a unique and powerful voice is ideal. And takes a lot of practice. As I am finding out.

Your workshop series are a great educational tool. They do help with the craft, the mechanics, as you say. But I do like that a loose but constructive community of writers is springing up here.

Thanks for your comments. And I will continue to follow along on your Writer's Club journey. Best of luck to you.

And best of luck to you too!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56542.34
ETH 2391.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30