How Do I Know I'm A Writer?

in #writing7 years ago

Am I a Writer?

 I asked myself this question a million times in my life. I've always had a love for writing deep down inside of me. My mom says I carried a pen/pencil and paper around with me everywhere I went. In school I was the weird kid who was thrilled when the teacher asked us to write a story. 

 In high school I grew to love writing even more and wanted to become a journalist. I let that dream die when I dropped out of college. I thought I'd never be a writer. I sat with a blank paper or empty Word document. I longed to write the things I felt inside and now and then they would ooze out onto my fingertips. 

 

It wasn't enough for me. I tried to forget writing. I wanted to put it out of my mind all together, but if you're a writer, you know that just won't happen. Finally, in 2011 I made my move. I wrote my first book, with the prodding of a friend of mine. I was hooked. From then on I couldn't stop. Today I write almost daily and I wouldn't have it any other way.

I am a writer. It's what I do.

 Are You a Writer? 

 

You may be wondering right now if you are indeed a writer. The only thing I can say to that is this. If you think about writing all the time, you probably are. I'm sure you're like me. You write from time to time. When you're not writing, you think about it or you sit staring at blank pages. Maybe you think you're too old? Maybe you think you're not educated enough? Don't buy any of the nonsense your brain tries to tell you. A lot of times those things end up being excuses not to try because you don't want to fail.

Own your title. You ARE a writer. Here are some things you can do to grow and feel like a writer.

 Things You Can Do 

 

Do some free writing. All that means is that you set a time for five minutes and begin to write everything that comes into your mind. Even if it's complete nonsense. It doesn't matter. I guarantee you once you start the words will flow. In my free writing sometimes all I can muster is today, today, today. Most of the time after that the words begin to drip out of me, I don't want the five minutes to end.

Once the time is over, save the free writes in a folder made just for them. Many times you can find golden nuggets among the words you've written.

 

Next, make sure to write every single day. Carve out time. If you have to get up early or stay up late, do whatever it takes to get at least 500 words written every day.

Remind yourself daily that you are a writer.

Polish your work. Make sure to edit it when finished. Don't get caught up in editing while you write though, that can be a never ending struggle.

 

Don't be afraid to share your work. Start a blog or share your work on social media. You may receive criticism but that will only serve to help you grow. You'll need a thick skin in t his business anyway. My advice is get used to it as soon as you can.

Never allow yourself to get comfortable. Remember you'll always be learning. Don't limit yourself with negative thoughts. They will only serve to stifle your creativity and stop you from doing what you love.

Remember you are a writer. You can't go without it. It's like a fish trying to go without water. It won't survive. If you allow yourself to be robbed of the opportunity to do what you love, whether that be writing or anything else you'll shrivel up into nothingness.

Don't be afraid to go after your dream. Write that book you've always wanted to write! Once you own who you are, no one can take it from you.

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by jrswab from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

In high school I grew to love writing even more and wanted to become a journalist. I let that dream die when I dropped out of college.

Yup, I know that feeling all too well. Same thing happened to me, lol.

I am a writer and proud, even though I don't have any novels published yet...I'm definitely working on that though. Soon....hopefully by next year it will become a reality.

I'm working toward traditional publishing. We'll see how that goes lol. Thanks for stopping by!

Great post man! Happy to see you plugging into Steem! I am always around to help and if you want to join other writers there are plenty of Discord groups <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60638.91
ETH 2449.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52