Freelance Writers Can Follow Their Passion And Be Successful

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

Thursday morning, I got caught up in the rush of pushing through to a deadline on a job that had been on my desk for three weeks. It just wasn't what I wanted to write. And I could give you at least a thousand good reasons why it wasn't. But I had signed on for the job and there I sat, pushing a deadline, and my own buttons. Every single button.

Why had I taken this job?

What crazy sense of duty could have passed my thought process and labeled this as a job I wanted to take? I'll tell you exactly what it was... It was a friend, who wanted a few blog posts done for him, and I couldn't resist. I felt like I should write them. After all, he offered to pay me, at only a mild one half of my usual rate, so why wouldn't I do him this gigantic favor and write his blog posts during my busiest writer season.

As I randomly slugged myself with an imaginary fist for agreeing to such a silly proposition, and verbally beat myself up for feeling used, when I'd accepted the job myself... I realized I'd had a choice, and I made the wrong decision.

##I could have said, "No!" ##

There it was, the choice. I'd made the choice. I took the job, at the cut rate, and I'd agreed to do it. So, I was doing it. But in the process, I was procrastinating, and thinking of every plausible reason possible. That's when I realized that I needed a list of requirements for jobs I would take.

But first, I had some writing to finish. I needed to be responsible and meet the deadline I'd agreed to meet, and accept responsibility for my own choice.

##Writing My Own Rules##

As with creating rules for any part of one's life, you must know the ultimate goal. I hadn't really fleshed out my vision very well, or when I'd been asked to write those articles, I would have known they weren't part of my program. I could have easily referred him to another writer, who would have been happy to get the work. And I'd have been just as happy not doing it.

But one thing I'd always prided myself on was my own integrity. If I said I'd do something, I did it. And this wasn't going to end that problem, but it would change the dynamic of what I agreed to write. Five hours later, well ahead of deadline, I pressed send on the articles promised. I was quite proud of those articles, and blog posts, and pointed out to the recipient that they were some of my best work, because they were. I didn't ask for, nor do I expect further payment or anything else for the job. At this point in time, in fact, I expect nothing more than to get on with my writing career and stay more focused on what I should be doing. I'll be less likely to take on jobs that aren't part of my "vision" from this point further.

So, what are the rules?

The big rule, and most important one of all, is that anything that isn't part of my vision doesn't get my attention, and certainly NOT my attention during my busiest season. I'll be far more particular from this point forward, about what jobs I take during this season.

There are so many other rules that can be broken, but seriously who needs to create a bunch of rules when the primary rule is really the only one you need?

*Focus on your visionary, goal, and accept nothing that isn't part of that goal.
*Open doors to achieving your goal by knowing what you really want.
*Live your passion, so those doors open easily.
*Don't be afraid of a price tag. People will pay for real value. You're worthy of the price.
*Step up and take charge. You really do have to take steps to achieve your goal.

##Live Your Passion##

I get a little frustrated at writers who believe they don't have to do anything to achieve their goals. Of course, you do have to get out of bed. You can't sleep all day and get anything done. No you probably can't wear your jammies all day, that's just ridiculous. And seriously, never meet a schedule? Dream on, sucker. There are timelines you'll have to achieve, or your goals will never happen. Suck it up and decide when you want to work, then do that! You don't have to work 8 hours a day in an office, but you do have to schedule work time and meet your goals.

Meanwhile, LIVE. Get out and do the things that make you happy. Schedule in your fun times, family times, and good times, just like you schedule work times. It's important that you take time away from work and live your passion. Otherwise... What will inspire you?

##Be The Mom##

Or dad... This is probably the most important paragraph I'm going to add to this entire article. If you have children, find ways to work with them in the room. Set them up with something to do, or a safe play space, and teach them to be quiet when you're on the phone, to entertain themselves while you work, and to live your life with you. Soon enough, you'll be going to their games, showing up for their events, sitting up all night while they're sick, and doing what they need. Teach them to do what you need. It's an important part of parenting. Be the mom (or dad) and teach your children how to behave themselves.

You can work with your tiny baby in the house, or a toddler in the room, or a teenager squabbling with a sibling. You have to teach them to prioritize and do what needs to be done. This isn't to say that you won't need a mother's helper occasionally, or a day of childless hours to accomplish the big goals, but your children need to know they're an important part of what you do.

##8 Hour Days Are NOT Required##

Your deadlines determine your schedule... by rote. But don't wait for the deadline to work. Find a working schedule where you can meet your deadlines, market your business, and build the on-going results you desire for your business, but don't get bogged down believing you have to work 8 hours a day, every day. Or worse, 24/7... yeah, I know some who do that, and some who have done that in the past.

The reality is you will make the vast majority of your money in 20% of your work time... So, how about figuring out what that time is and work hardest during that 20% of the time. Then spend the rest of your work time, doing things that benefit your whole life too. Schedule work time around LIFE.

Just make sure you have time for all the important things first.

##Stress is What You Make It##

I always smile when my friends tell me how overwhelmed and stressed out they are. There's something to be said for choosing your battles. If you don't like something other people are doing, unless it directly affects you, ignore it. Move on. Why be bothered with services you're reminded to use from a free service? If you like most of what is offered, ignore what you don't like and use what you love. If you don't love coffee, and your clients want to meet you at Starbucks, drink water. If you don't want to hike up the mountain trails, get your exercise elsewhere. The point here is to find what you love and let the rest be... You don't have to complain about the things you don't like. Just love what you do like.

Why be stressed about what you can't change?

Make a concerted effort to change that which you CAN change, but anything that isn't in that category, move on. Leave it alone and keep doing what you do to make a difference. Improve your life by not being stressed about the things that really don't make a difference.

##Critical Thinking Empowers Your Writing##

Here it is, the basis for being successful and following your passion. When you think out where you want to go with your writing, and put action into actually achieving your goal, the rest will follow. You have to know where you're going, and how you'll get there, then put action toward accomplishing those great things.

Follow your passion?

Of course, you're going to follow your passion, and do what you do best, because that's the mark of an excellent career. You'll need to have a complete picture of what that looks like and then set up steps to achieve that level of success. Your critical thinking skills will empower you to achieve your dreams through freelance writing, by guiding you to the jobs that will further your efforts.

Never stop. That's the key. Once you have a goal in mind, never back down, and never stop. Keep moving toward your goal.

I'm always available to help you create a plan, or develop your own success strategy, and get focused on your passion. Let's talk!writer-605764_960_720.jpg

Sort:  

Hi Jan! Friend of Kevin's here... love your post. I wrote Cost Benefit Jr. when my youngest was a baby, during his naps. Lots of good, encouraging information here, thanks!

Thanks for stopping by. Good to meet you.

Congratulations @janverhoeff! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 60855.42
ETH 3369.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50