You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A CONVERSATION WITH MY MOTHER

in #writing6 years ago

howdy sir willymac! good to see you here again, this is a marvelous post, to hear what life was like back in the 30's and 40's is quite remarkable! This is a great interview to pass on to your family and relatives.

Sort:  

Hi, Tex! Thanks for noticing the piece about my Mom. I was going through some very old micro audio cassettes I had created with an old recorder and re-discovered this, the one with my father, and several others. I thought they had been lost, so it was a real surprise. It was wonderful to hear Mom's soft, Southern accent again.

Things have been busy lately. I got the new garden fenced, collected another pile of rocks in the process, had nine storm-damaged trees removed, and other outdoor activity to keep me busy.

I hope you are are up to date on your chores and in good health.

wow sir willymac! that is such an important find, getting hold of those old cassettes. I bet it took awhile to type everything out but it's worth it.

And you're getting tons of outside work done while the weather is nice. I was hoping you didn't go over to Weku or someplace like so many others have. I'm doing great, doing lots of work on steemit and outside.

Yep, finding it was a surprise. I had moved everything from the small micro-cassettes to a large SD card years ago and they got mixed together. I was going through a pile of the SD cards, transferring them to a backup hard drive and found the audio files. Typing them did take a long time, as did the reading-while-replaying step, but it was worth it because I now have a word file indexed and saved.

Way too many things around the homestead to do now! It rained all day yesterday and the leaves are covering the ground, just waiting.

At least life is on an even keel for both of us.

I'm so glad to hear that things are going well for you guys willymac and steemit pays almost nothing so you have to keep up the homestead!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59035.93
ETH 2519.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47