DEAR DIARY #1 - travel, sickness, and accomplishments

in #writing7 years ago

Do you ever have so much to say that you don't know where to begin? Yeah, me, too.

I had this perspective that I would only share quality, useful content on SteemIt, but realized that it's the perfect place to share general thoughts . . . a diary of sorts.

It's been roughly 24 days since I posted or commented within SteemIt. It's like starting a TV show and getting interrupted. You really want to finish it, but a snowball effect of things gets in the way.

The Stress and Sickness Connection

Anyone that's taken a week-long vacation from work will tell you that stress is common in the week or so prior to leaving. There are so many things to get done at work as well as personal items that need to be attended to. I put myself in that position, tired my body out, and unfortunately got sick a few days into my visit with my mom in Atlanta. NO FAIR being sick while on vacation, but it happens a lot. It wasn't until the important points of my trip were completed that I got sick. It's almost as if my body said "that's it . . .you're done . . . I'm shutting down". But (looking back) what better place to be sick than at my mom's!?! Hahaha.

Mission Accomplished

Besides seeing friends and family, I needed to visit the Mexican Consulate. I have decided to put my nomadic life on hold and stay put in Cancun for awhile. With that decision came the desire to get a residency visa (a long process in which I will detail in another post). I have been thinking about and preparing for that Mexican Consulate visit for about 9 months! Finally, I had all the paperwork prepared and was successful in getting the necessary stamp in my passport. Now I have the permission to move forward in getting a residency card. A giant first step accomplished. Feels good.

Back On The Homefront

It feels good to be home. HOWEVER, there is just as much work to do to get back into routine as there was prior to my trip. Bummer. Short term goals included fully recovering from my head-cold (which is almost completely gone), prioritizing the endless 'to do' list, visiting with a local attorney to get the residency card process going here in Mexico, and finally . . . getting back to SteemIt.

I have a lot of reading to catch-up on ;)


If you enjoyed this post, give me a little upvote hug. If you are curious to know more, please comment and say 'hi' or follow me. Resteems are always appreciated :)

Sort:  

Good to see you back, I wondered what happened to you

Hi!! Yes, life got a 'lil crazy for a while. Nice to be back. I missed chatting with people

to be honest, we hear how dangerous Mexico is, and I'd just heard something recently about Cancun, sorry don't recall specifics, but it made me wonder about your safety when you went dark.

Would be nice to hear the truth about what it's like there, and how Americans are viewed/treated

Thanks for the suggestion. I think I will. Yes, the media is quick to point out violence/murders, but in reality it doesn't affect my daily life at all. What's really going on has nothing to do with Americans or tourists here. It is a fight between rival drug gangs (and the local police being targeted as well) due to two aspects - the capture of El Chapo and an election that got rid of the state governor (that was corrupt from what I hear). So, there is a power struggle going on. Once there is a "winner" it will quiet down. The locals and government (and cartels) know that the economy here (for everyone) is dependent on tourists.

Yeah I just tend to wonder how much propaganda it is and how much truth it is when the say Mexico is dangerous.

This post has received a 0.49 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @jannell.

@jannell got you a $0.86 @minnowbooster upgoat, nice!
@jannell got you a $0.86 @minnowbooster upgoat, nice! (Image: pixabay.com)


Want a boost? Click here to read more!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.17
JST 0.032
BTC 63632.98
ETH 2727.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58