Have you dated yourself?

in #writing7 years ago

It is 11:20 on Saturday morning and I'm having some brunch at one of my favorite coffee shops in SA.
IMG_20180106_112935.jpg
IMG_20180106_113149.jpg

Recently I heard T. D. Jake's being interviewed about his new book 'Soar' (great read by the way... about entrepreneurship for those starting from nowhere!)
He really got my attention at one point when he said,

'I know who I am, I've dated myself... The problem is that people are so busy dating other people they never have a chance to get to know who they are'

Three and a half years ago I went through the most difficult time of my life, my husband left... And my kids and I didn't see it coming.

A strong tendency for people coming out of a long term marriage or relationship is to go on the rebound and find someone else.

Statistically those relationships have even more chance of failure and have the potential to break the person even more.

I haven't dated since my husband left and I'm grateful for it because 3,5 years down the line and I'm stronger, happier and more whole than I've probably ever been.

If you let Him, God can take a tragedy and turn it into something mind blowing... He has been doing that for me!

So today I'm on another date with myself and I'm loving it... Such a great chance to upload a post on steemit too 😉

Try it.... Date yourself!

Sort:  

Inspiring post, thank you so much!

You're welcome where in SA do you live?

Hi in the Eastern tranvaal, mpumalanga

Awesome what do you do?

I'm a teacher and yourself?

translator. high school?

Translator... Interesting, which languages? I teach pre-primary

We live in solitude and know ourselves more closely ..nice post
I know that you have enjoyed your coffee very much.

Absolutely and yes I did enjoy!

I think it is the moment of concerning about yourself, your health, your emotion, your life. when we love ourselves, we know how to love others.
Thank you for the writing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60453.64
ETH 2425.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48