On Inspiration: Writing from Life Experiences

in #writing8 years ago (edited)

This painting is an accurate representation of me.

The creative, in this case a wordsmith, surrounded by references — books, notes, other people's work...other people's experience — sitting alone in the dark, likely saying to himself "I suck. I really suck."

(Image: Throes of Creation by Leonid Pasternak)

Suddenly, a spark! A moment of clarity, an idea out of nowhere... or from somewhere?
But where?

“You never have to change anything you got up in the middle of the night to write.”
― Saul Bellow

I'm not sure that's completely correct, but I'll give him the benefit of the doubt. Part of the idea is that when the muse finally speaks, the words just seem to flow and everything falls into place.

Most of the time I write from my own experiences in life. "Write what you know!" they say. Why on earth would anybody choose willingly to do it any other way, I can't imagine. I'll leave that for the good writers who can get into the heads of other people, for me... I've only got the one head to get into.

Can't speak for anybody else, but for me the inspiration to write comes at random times. There are things we can do to tease it out, however, and build on moments of inspiration over time if we're not really sure the direction to take.

I like to make lists!

I have a Google Doc with random ideas jotted down since joining Steemit. They're title ideas, quotes that resonate, or snippets of news pieces. Every few days I revisit them looking for that little bit inspiration to start the article, sometimes I finish and sometimes I don't. Much of the writing I am most proud of have been spur of the moment, with very little forethought and certainly no planning. Maybe that means its lacking polish, maybe not. I mostly write for myself, always have, if other people like it then that's wonderful. This came from many years of journalling.

I read quotes, listen to music, watch movies, and look at photos!

About 10 years ago I started a Tumblr, and because of it I've gathered quite the collection of 'Likes' — about 8000. Sometimes I sit for hours just going through them, because these are things that I have (at some point in the last few years) considered worthy of hitting a little heart button. They're inspiring, sometimes.

Get out into nature!

Nature can be a major source of inspiration, directly or indirectly. There are themes that we find when we're "out there" walking or sitting quietly that can influence our writing, something that may spark a memory or a thought. The struggle for life, death, seasons, movement and rhythm, colour, vibrance, vitality, you can go on and on.

If you write from your life experiences, you already have everything that you need... all you need is the inspiration, and the words will come.

What inspires you?

Here's some evidence that sometimes, every now and then, I get a spark of inspiration to write from my experiences... Some are beyond the last payout, but some are not. If you like them, I'd appreciate your comments and your votes.

On The Benefits of Journaling: 7 Reasons To Start
"Poo-Poo" The Kitten, and the Pain of Little Tragedies
On Impermanence, Writing Letters, and Film Photography
On The Timeliness of Books
The Portals To The Past Are Closing Up Around You
Krishna at the Farmer's Market -- A Lesson in Non-Attachment
Thoughts On Death and Time Travel
Caribbean Child: A Biographical Snapshot
The Grandfathers: David of St. Matthias


Follow

Sort:  

It's funny... the last thing that inspired an entire book-length outline that I'm currently plodding through was simply the sound of the word "gallowglass." Nice post.

Ah, yes. The muse hits when she wants to hit and I love it when the inspiration, ideas, and dialogue just flow through me. Sometimes I can't type fast enough! :) But when she's silent, I find inspiration in my life events too. Nature usually gets me waxing poetic. Thunderstorms help bring out the horror. My husband inspires me to not take anything too seriously. :)

Inspired me already!

inspiration you very good sir, l am follow you

Good advice. Inspiration is absolutely everywhere!

your post inspired me :)

Yes its true inspiration is everywhere :)) Sometimes when you take time off that is when best ideas come!

Lately, I've been taking a lot of inspiration from photography posted on Steemit and random photos I found on Google Image Search, like this one that made me write my crime series The Horse Van (Part 1 Part 2 Part 3):

But really, however distant the setting for my fiction, it ends up being inspired by my beliefs and experiences (and all of the other stuff I've read and learned).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61249.08
ETH 3397.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51