ALPHABET------D------don't give up on your self.

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

P0042-NeverGiveup-1.jpg

Did you ever wake up in the morning and say today I will accomplish some thing big? Did you have ever make big plans for your life. Did you ever think that your life would be different than what it is?..... What happened to your big dreams...Do you know when they died...

My dream was to be a lawyer... I read books constantly . I started when I was 5 years old.. My first book was 365 stories for every day of your life.... It was my very special first present I ever got ....I had the idea if I knew words I could be a good lawyer..

My dream died in 1948, I would have been 6 in March...My sister was born in February and my mom was very sick...Because I would be starting school in the fall, I would spend my time in the school's library . I got sent home so many times by the teacher ,he finally just let me stay there...I was very quiet and just sat and read and looked at pictures.. One day I came home for lunch in April and found that the yard was full of people. We had a lot of snow that year and only horses with a hay rack could come in the yard... As I came up to the yard ,I heard the older neighbors talking about what a poor child I was to be so young without a mother...It was at that moment that I saw my mother bundled up in many quilts and she was lying on the hayrack leaving without me saying goodbye... I assumed that my mother had died ,because the old ladies all hugged and kept saying poor child.... We had a lady who came to cook and clean for us .. I was very much a loner . I had two older brothers and a sister who was four years older.. they always said I was much too young to play with them ...My reading hobby saved me from loneliness and filled up a good portion of my time... I grieved for my mother by my self , sometimes the sorrow unbearable. I grieved until Middle of July . The nuns came from the city to teach catechism to the country children surrounding the church... They always stayed at our house. One day all the kids left and I stayed in the church in a corner pew hidden from the door.. Sister just happened to walk by and she saw me crying. She asked me why and I told my mother had died and I missed her very , very much. She put her arms around me and asked where I heard that my mother had died? I told her about coming home and hearing the neighbors talking about what a poor child I was.. The nun then, told me my mother was alive and was in a hospital by the Doctors house so he could treat her...She gave me her rosary and told me that I never would be with out a mother ever again because I could love Mary, the mother of Jesus. I still have that rosary and treasure it. My joy hearing my mother was alive, getting well was beyond understanding.

I continued with my education and entered nursing and then life took over ..still no money to go to university to study to be a lawyer.

I got married and it was a very rocky marriage. I stayed with him till the kids grew up and started on my own...again the dream didn't become a reality... finally I had a good job and I saved some money and applied to make my dream come true... I was very disappointed when the dean told me I could study for the 7 years but the last year of articling would be a problem , I was too old to put in the time needed to pass the bar. No Lawyer would give me the break I needed.

What did I learn from all this??? I learned your dream is the very essence of your live . you want something go for it. Do not wait until your years pass like mine did and the dream dies... The dream is still just a dream ,but if I had tried sooner it would have become a reality. Think everyday ,what you want for your dream ,struggle if you have to ,but make sure your realize that only you can make it a reality. I sure wish mine was...

Now when I have a dream I try to make it a reality immediately if I can...

My daughter lives Washington which is a 12 hour drive from here, and I really wanted to see her...My dream became a reality when I packed my van and decided to go there last fall.. my Doctor told me not to go because of health issues. .My friends told me I was too old to drive that far by myself... I wanted to go so I went. I got lost quite a few times ,but asked directions from some peculiar people, but I got there... had a good holiday, enjoyed my self and my daughter showed me the way back so I wouldn't get lost... I made it home in one piece , in good time ,safe and sound.

If I can do it at 75 . What is stopping you?

Sort:  

Thank you jacsmom for your inspiring words. I think we are all full of dreams, but not all can be fulfilled in this short lifetime. If we cannot reach out goals and we have tried. we should accept and forgive ourselves. In that, happiness lies.

you are so welcome...I love to hear from you. thanks for your vote .I will do the same for you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 56740.37
ETH 3000.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.19