Day 956 (Daily Post)

in #writing5 years ago

Day 956. The song the crickets are singing is rather loud and even quite melodious this morning in the pre-dawn hours as I stare bleary eyed at this little screen with it's blinking cursor and wait for my espresso to finish brewing.

After pulling up my spring water systems yesterday and hence hiking back and forth through the woods to the spring head, trudging through the muck, getting water in my hole riddled boots from the creek, dragging all the irrigation tubing into the yard, giving everything a thorough cleaning and coiling it all up...I got one heck of an aerobic workout in the process and I can sure feel it in my upper body this morning. Of course I did a bunch of other stuff yesterday which surely contributed to the 'workout' as well but the dragging, cleaning and coiling of somewhere just shy of eight hundred feet of tubing (and two hundred odd feet of water hose) used a bunch of muscles that I don't use very often especially in the backs of my arms and chest. Thankfully those muscles just feel heavily used and nothing feels pulled or strained which is good because the next few days are about to superbly tax my body and having injuries to deal with would just complicate the physically demanding task ahead of getting everything moved and also setting up camp at the new place.

The weather has not been on my side lately because all the black locust building material and the pre-built decks that were previously rather dry are now a bit waterlogged and hence weigh more but there just is not anything I can do about that. All the rain has also made it impossible for me to put everything from the building outside so that I can fully dismantle the little room that I built in the rear of the building but if push comes to shove I can do all that once I load everything from the building into the moving truck. The last not-so-wonderful contribution of the weather is that the 'yard' is a mucky mess and we will have to be careful to not foul it up too much while maneuvering the moving truck around to where I have things staged for loading. I am glad that I anticipated that last bit possibly occurring and gave the 'yard' a good mowing so the grass would be short and the sun would potentially help evaporate the water faster than if the grass was tall.

Basically today is going to be one long hard push to finish off my list of things to do which will be no small feat in and of itself because I will be pulling up the last of my critical infrastructure and in the process making the building a complete cluster fuck of too much stuff in too small of a space. Looking back over my initial one hundred item 'to do' list I am extremely grateful that I am not just a 'list maker' but also that I am self-motivated enough to not just follow the list but actually check things off each evening and have a record of what I have done and what I yet have to accomplish which if nothing else keeps things in perspective and does not leave me trying to keep everything in my head and possibly forgetting to do things.

For the most part I have 'made my peace' with the whole 'having to move' thing and at this point I am just thankful that there is a loving place for me and the dogs to move to, that I have some storage at the new place for my stuff that needs to stay out of the elements, that I was able to scrape together most of the necessary funds (double thanks there yal), that I endured all the challenges this particular place presented along the way, that I grew as a person, that I overcame my decades old depression, that I instilled in myself the habit of sitting down and typing out my thoughts each morning and evening, that I started to (and continue to) share my private life, that I have good friends and family in my life and developed better relations with both, that my dogs are happy, that my vast skill set has grown even larger, that I was capable of learning from both my failures and successes, that I found/cultivated some peace of mind and a sense of well-being, that I grew more proficient at pulling my own teeth, that I grew more conscious of my electricity requirements and hence my electricity consumption, that I have at long last figured out ways to sustain my life on a marginal amount of income, that along the way neither my resilience nor my ability to endure hardship failed me and if anything served me quite well, that I somehow grew less prone to being verbally combative, but ultimately the big win is that I learned the value of not wasting my time talking to the people who do not listen. I am thankful/grateful for all those things and so much more but I think you get the idea!

Anyway I better wrap this up now because the sun is finally up and I have an incredible amount to accomplish today if I am to be fully ready for what tomorrow brings which is essentially a new chapter of my life and what will probably be the best thing to happen for me in quite some time and believe me I am absolutely prepared to embrace the changes ahead with every fiber of my being and excited to see how it unfolds.

I hope that everyone is doing well, has a nice day/night/moment and I will relentlessly do the same. Ta ta for now, Much Love and all that feel good jazz that keeps us all chugging along doing what we do.

This is my fundraiser to help me with moving expenses.

https://www.gofundme.com/jacob-is-moving-again

Please consider becoming a patron on my Patreon page!!!
https://www.patreon.com/jacobpeacock

You can also contribute via PayPal: https://www.paypal.me/jacobpeacock

Or via Venmo: https://venmo.com/Jacob-Peacock-8

a-pretty-morning4-sm.png

Today's Obligatory Picture: A Pretty Morning!

Thanks for reading!

Sort:  

This post was curated by @theluvbug
and has received an upvote and a delayed resteem to hopefully generate some ❤ extra love ❤ for your post!

myluvbug.gif

In Proud Collaboration with The Power House Creatives
and their founder @jaynie

Congratulations @jacobpeacock! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63064.93
ETH 2468.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55