Day 949 (Daily Post)

in #writing5 years ago

Day 949. It is looking like it is going to be another sunny day today other than perhaps a thunderstorm late in the afternoon which will probably arrive just in time to cool things down a bit and make for nice napping weather.

During all these supposedly sunny months of Spring and Summer there sure has been a heck of a lot of cloudy days and today being potentially the third day in a row of truly sunny weather seems like a total fluke of happenstance at this point.

I think that I mentioned it a while back but am unsure if I elaborated on the topic but I read a pretty good article about how with the rising CO2 levels in the atmosphere there will continue to be more clouds and hence less direct sunlight and although the article did not state it I drew the conclusion that the increased cloud cover will undoubtedly heavily impact solar electricity production globally. Perhaps the large scale solar arrays/farms will not be drastically effected but smaller systems like my own (which produces a little less than a thousand watts) might become wholly unviable over the coming years.

All of which has me taking a much closer look at methods for generating electricity that do not rely (nor are impacted by) the weather like hydroelectric and thermoelectric and considering that I just want to generate enough electricity to meet my marginal needs I think that pursuing those avenues will be rather inexpensive compared to the gains of having the potential to generate electricity 'on demand' day or night regardless of the weather conditions.

Ultimately hybrid electricity generation systems via multiple sources seems like the most prudent solution because it introduces some redundancy and brings to mind that saying about hydras and how 'if you cut off one head then two more emerge.' Mayhaps that sounds a bit cliché but nonetheless I think it is a wholly apt analogy.

Aside from the whole electricity generation aspect of things the other thing that I keep mulling over is energy storage and how the entire battery situation is pretty much unsustainable because to be blunt batteries at some point go bad and although there are some interesting emerging technologies (like the glass batteries and liquid metal batteries) those solutions are as of yet not commercially available which brings me back once again to thinking that the 'pumped water method' of energy storage is still the most reliable. Of course there is also the 'compressed air method' but I have yet to do more in depth research on that topic and think that it is a can of worms I am uncertain about the viability of or if I really want to 'open' in the first place.

Anyway I am looking forward to continuing my electricity generation experiments and finding solutions that do not cost a proverbial 'arm and a leg' to implement because one thing that I really dislike about the whole electricity generation/storage scenario is just how cost prohibitive it is and I think that there are more affordable solutions out there and if I just keep stumbling along perhaps I will find (or even invent) them.

All that jazz aside things are progressing well enough with my packing down and dismantling process of the homestead and now that I am working on a definitive timeline I find myself at least once a day reaching a point where the enormity of the undertaking attempts to overwhelm me with all the stuff that I have yet to do to be prepared and in those moments I just stop whatever the hell I am doing, remind myself to just breathe, invariably start mentally reciting the list of things that I have left to do and look around at all the stuff I have already done which seems to be working because after a few moments of that I can shake off the feeling of being overwhelmed and tell myself 'Just keep fucking going! You are doing phenomenally well!'

The other thing that I keep telling myself is 'You can break down and cry about it all later once this shitshow is over and you are in a better place surrounded by loving folks.' Basically I do not so much mind breaking down in that manner in a safe place but in this scenario I think that it might cause a bit of a chain reaction where I will either continue to break down or just shake it off and come out of it 'fighting mad' and wholly prepared to start 'kicking ass and taking names' and ultimately neither of those things is going to be all that productive at this point in things so I just use my mental powers to 'focus pocus' on a brighter future and shrug off what is undoubtedly a bit of a fucked up past/present because after all the past is a myth, the present is over as soon as it begins and only the future really matters.

I am sure some folks would love to debate the validity of that last sentence but honestly my subjective opinion/view of time is wholly my own and right now in this particular moment I just want time to fly by and perhaps even break the fucking sound barrier with it's velocity so I can just be done with this phase of my life and move the fuck on knowing I gave it my best.

Well that is enough meandering, rambling, tedious phone typing for one beautiful morning and I am going to wrap this up get the hell on with my day and embrace my superpower 'angst' and see what I can transmute it into today.

I hope that everyone is doing well and has a nice day/night and I will undoubtedly do the same.

This is my fundraiser to help me with moving expenses.

https://www.gofundme.com/jacob-is-moving-again

Please consider becoming a patron on my Patreon page!!!
https://www.patreon.com/jacobpeacock

You can also contribute via PayPal: https://www.paypal.me/jacobpeacock

Or via Venmo: https://venmo.com/Jacob-Peacock-8

butterfly-milk-thistle-sm.png

Today's Obligatory Picture: A Swallowtail On Milk Thistle!

Thanks for reading!

Sort:  

Congratulations @jacobpeacock! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99