LEADERSHIP! A CALL TO SLAVERY

in #writing6 years ago

We are the youths of a nation
When we were young they said we were the future leaders of tomorrow
We'll build our country to a greater level
All we gotta do is educate, read our books, Fight harder, never give up and... implement!

IMG_20180501_201711_838.jpg

As I grew, I grew stronger
Believing in the words of my elders
I tried to defeat everyone who crossed my path
To make them know I had a dream to manifest!
Life happened to me when I was damn inside of it.
Energy used! Strength used! Power consumed!
I sweated badly to make sure I could be that leader they said.

But it never occurred to me that by the term leadership they meant slavery in disguise...
They meant tasting the element that slaps you...
They meant suffering to only receive critiques!
They meant serving alot of people who might never clean your sweat.
They meant crawling on the grounds that could be walked on
They meant being stung by an arthropod; a messenger of rivality

No-one ever told me being a leader was being a slave!
But as I sat to see the difference, it dawned on me
That the water that falls off the leader is sweat while that of the slave is tears
The reaction of a leader to life is expressed with words while that of a slave barely is facial expressions and silence.
That the song of a slave is that of freedom while that of a leader is a clarion call.
That a leader is a slave with a choice but a slave is slave for slavery!

IMG_20180501_201838_437.JPG

A call to leadership! Don't be held spellbound! It lies in you and me.
Leadership! It's the kind of slavery you ask for! Grab it!

Sort:  

Wow... Nice one sis. You're a true definition of a leader! And your leadership qualities are unbeatable... Ride on.

Thanks Dear. I just pray we are able to achieve our dreams.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by aniekanbassey from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64176.22
ETH 2624.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78