Sheddle and his family: a children's book without children.

in #writing7 years ago

A fellow Steemit member advised me to write a children's book. The thing is, I've never written this kind of thing. It's basically the opposite of everything I've been writing so far.

But you see, when I was in middle school, I made a character. I thought he looked funny, in a good way. His name is Sheddle, and he's a business rat - a rat who works as a business man.

20170820_111349.jpg

Sheddle is the most average adult male you could imagine. He lives a calm, peaceful life in a small apartment. But I thought, why not write a story about him? And why not make it a children's book?

Now, I thought Sheddle would need some fantasy in his life. After all, he's extremely average and, if I dare say, boring. Maybe his life could be more interesting if he had a family.

So I decided that Sheddle would have a mother and a wife. His mother is a nice lady, albeit old-fashioned and a little short-tempered. His wife is the opposite of him: she's a very energetic woman who plays in a rock band.

d6c5d4f2-24ae-4839-8188-115d3eedfbf7.jpg

20170820_132406.jpg

I thought it could be a way to show that very different people can love eachother and help eachother become the best version of themselves. Jenny brings a bit of fun and fantasy in Sheddle's life, and Sheddle brings a bit of order in hers.

Now, since it would be a children's book, I thought they should have children. After all, the reader needs to identify with the characters. And then, it hit me. Sheddle is a child, in a way. At least, his mother sees him that way.

So I thought of something. Would children want to read a children's book where all the characters are adults? If you have children, please ask them this question. I would love to hear their answer.

20170820_134655.jpg

"Sheddle lives in a big city."

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 65070.55
ETH 3147.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55