You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Taking the Mask off Steemit: Does Steemit Work for You or Do You Work for Steemit?

in #writing8 years ago (edited)

I don't think you had a change of heart. You just see logic.

I’m still gonna be here and post. But probably not as often.

I had an idea at one time I was going to post every single day. But what I dislike about that, is people get sick of seeing your post competing with theirs.

I'll give you an example. There was one girl on here that shared some intimate past life experiences (not stella), and she was making a killing. For like 5 days straight, she was above 2,000 a post...

Fine, they were great stories, even if they were traumatic, still very interesting.

What did it for me, is that rather than step out of the spotlight for a minute and give someone else a chance, she kept posting daily.. things like

"I'm bored. Don't know what to write about"

"The sun is shining... and I'm just relaxing"

"Hey, anyone watch any good tv lately"

--- there was no meat there. It was all just dribble once she was out of stories. Yet she was still making +$2,000 for crap.

When I saw that, I promised myself I wouldn't do that walk of shame. I wouldn't let greed regulate what I posted, and how often I posted.

I appreciate someone giving someone else a turn in the spotlight. It would have been a lot nicer to have seen that girl give it a break for a few days.

So that's my long winded way of saying, "you're right". Keep posting, just not as often... and remember to find other passive income ways. I agree.

Sort:  

Good point @intelliguy. Thus far I have not exhausted my ideas, but I'm sure at some point there will be a block (no pun intended) at which point I will probably just take a breathe as I hate posting "fluff."

Then again - I'm not getting 2k a post. There would probably be some temptation if I knew I could just throw stuff at the wall and make money. Fluff getting mass upvotes may be an issue.

Maybe if all articles had to be opened to up vote, instead of being able to do it by looking at trending (et al.) and just up voting based on images, titles, and first snippets...

It would guarantee readership, but the added efforts may discourage fluff votes.

Actually, I love that idea. Personally, I have not voted on a post (outside of my own) that I did not open. And I read the whole post nearly 90% of the time. Maybe I'm just a sucker though...lol.

Thanks for the encouragement!

You make a good point.

your post is real. i wish i already understand fully the very concepts of how things work here, i am still new though; perhaps i would have grasped fully how you mean when you spoke of competition. did you mean that if one gets like a popular post here on steemit, then you other posts regardless of its content will certainly become popular or with many upvotes and will keep on as visible. i still dont get the basis for how content is served here on steemit

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 57983.59
ETH 3132.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44