You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Never joke about road head!

in #writing8 years ago (edited)

"Damn!" she exclaimed.

Damn, this is some seriously good writing. Definitely worth the time.

It's a shame you haven't been noticed so far here on Steem. I'm quite far from being a whale but I'm gonna try to help you out.

EDIT: Would you consider adding an image to help your story stand out a bit more? Something like this maybe? I know it's some sort of marketing trick but it's a damn good story and I feel bad when it doesn't get the attention it deserves.

Sort:  

Wow, @innuendo, thank you. I haven't written in a while and just been talking with an old friend who is a brilliant writer and now professor in the states which blows both our minds and he got me going. I'm new here on steemit and just testing the waters while living in Cambodia. I sincerely appreciate the feedback, both positive and critical. I'm still trying to learn markdown and ways to format the layout. My friend Jeff here in Siem Reap is having a tech fest this weekend at his co- working space AngkorHub and a common friend is also turning it into a SE Asia Steemit meetup. I hope to learn more as I've been around tech being from Silicon Valley but never really got hip to coding, or even basic HTML etc., so I'm playing catch up. But I did have ideas and photos for the post just foolishly didn't figure it out. I can't edit but I guess fix and repost? Any advice is appreciated. I'm pretty hard on myself and don't take compliments well but do appreciate the kind words, will take heed of your advice. Be well. Please keep reading if you dig it.

You can edit and amend your post many times, at least until 12 hours after the moment you published your post. So no actual reposting is needed, you can just edit and fix the existing post - you should see the EDIT button just below your post.

I can see you already know how to add images, as you successfully did it for your earlier posts. So I have only this advice: for hosting images please use this website (you don't even need to sign up with them to use the service). If you upload images there, they are more likely to stay for good (other image hosting services are likely to remove your images after some time).

Regarding copy rights for images, I guess you can use anything you find on the Internet but just add the original source of the image.

For example:


image source

which translates into this markdown:

https://www.steemimg.com/images/2016/08/09/Lonely-Girl-Bus84d54.jpg
[image source](https://brokeinwords.files.wordpress.com/2016/03/lonely-girl-bus.jpg)

As for formatting, you don't really need to use markdown any more - just switch to the editor mode (there is a button for this in the top right corner of your screen visible when you are composing a new post). Or just use the markdown as described here, the basic stuff (e.g. different types of paragraph headers) is very easy.

I appreciate it. It would let me post a picture but only at the bottom. Glitch in the matrix I guess. My wifi here is touch and go, Cambodia and all, unless I'm at my friends place and it's late here. I will see what I can do tomorrow. Thanks for the help and taking the time. I just felt eager to post it. Next time I'll spend more time on presentation for sure.

@innuendo "Regarding copy rights for images, I guess you can use anything you find on the Internet but just add the original source of the image." No, not true. I have many images on the internet and being credited is not satisfactory. Especially if someone is profiting off the illegal use of my work.

I get your point. So how can one know if being credited is satisfactory or not?

@innuendo, good question. I don't imagine any artists would be willing to give permission without getting a cut. Sadly it's being done all the time. Best bet is stock image sites - even those aren't free. If you are making money off of an image (directly or indirectly) that you have not paid for in some form - like a licensing agreement of sorts, you are risking a lawsuit. And you will 99.99999% lose.

No worries, when I start using pictures, I will use my own, or simply some from the public domain as I may if I re work this for better presentation, but I really do appreciate all the feedback and input. Thanks again @innuendo and fairytalelife...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62856.64
ETH 2425.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67