Reading Julia Cameron "Right to write", chapter one impressions

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

I was looking at the book for a few days, and today I finally opened it to read the first chapter.

I must admit I was really surprised about the chapters length - how sgort they are comparing to the ones in the "Way of the artist" book. But may be it's a better way to go. I can read one chapter every day (43 there are) and do all the tasks. As you probably know, "Way of the artist" is a course for 12 weeks, and all the time I found myself lost in it, and now it seems to me like I have to start again. 

May be I'll really do it, and will share here my progress. Blog really motivates me, it's like some kind of a checking. For some tasks Julia recomends to find company, but where am I and where the company is. Not all the stuff is too personal, but I'm not that much communicative.

But let me go back to the "Right to write" I can't explain this feeling, but every time I start reading Cameron's books - I immidiately feel comfortable with the subject. In fact me attempts to write a book now are not the first ones in my life.

I wrote. I wrote a lot, and it was a kind of literature diary. I have a REALLY good memory, I can remember nearly every word of conversations, so I could put ut everything on paper. Funny and sad situations, everything. 

Anf feelings, yep. Feelings and impressions from anything. If you remember when I submitted a post telling that I have this new book I told about a conversation with my friend and how she asked me "Why don't you write?". So, we also discussed our "super powers", and she said that she knows no more people with a memory like mine. In that conversation I was confused, I thought "OK, but how can I actually use it?". Well, now I know. I don't need to imagine feelings or conversations, at least not all of them for the heroes of my book, I can just use my memory, it'll give me a lot of materials:)

Now about the first chapter. If you read "the Way of the Artist" you know, that every chapter of Cameron's books have a task to perform, and it's the same here. So, the first is to write three pages of random text. Just to write them. With no subject. It's so alike "Morning pages" from the artists book!:) Luckly I do this exersise for quite a long time. And may be it was an another step that leaded me not only to drawing, but to writing too:)

Thank you for watching:)

Love, Inber

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64038.60
ETH 3148.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97