Catching quick "sketches" (reading Julia Cameron's "Right to write", impression from Chapter fifteen)

in #writing7 years ago

I don't remember who among the artists said this, but:

-"When I'm creating a picture I never know how it will look in the end".

This is also a main thought of the chapter. That there's no need to know how your creation will look when it will be finished. But you can catch up details, and write them down/ sketch them in advance, if a thought comes to your mind.

 Image credit 

For a really long time I wasn't beliving in this. I kept thinking that I need to know how every detail will look in order to start. Bad idea, really bad idea. Good ideas come up in process, even if they don't look like that at first.

What I mean: for example, I'm lying in the bed and an image appeares in my head. Sometimes I have these "Illuminations" when my visual series is overcrowded and something new comes out without any effort at all - I just close my eyes and see, how everything I put in my "visual treasury" finally blended together and a new shape came out. So, everything I needed to do when that happend - just go and sketch it. But I was waiting for a "better time", for the time when I will know all the details.

It's not surprising that neither of these illuminations never turned to a drawing. Cause I did not trust myself, and didn't trust the flow.

Now I just sketch down the general idea I have in my mind. No matter when I"ll come back to it - it's anyway aleready with me:)

Thank you for watching:)

Love, Inber

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64741.88
ETH 3457.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55