You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Chibera Writing Contest - An Introduction to My Character, Selene.

in #writing6 years ago

YES.

Even in this period of high RCs and low VP, I had to leave you a comment and a vote. This is the kind of story I can get into. Reminds me a little of Name of the Wind, which I love. I love stories of street rats becoming powerful. I love good people overcoming.

Thoughts I have about the future of this storyline (feel free to surprise me or fulfill expectations). Those mages, though they seem to promise a more comfortable life turn out to be part of the problem, maintaining the status quo that keeps the poor poor and the rich comfortable and safe, and so she, along with these street bullies who will find common cause with her and who will go through a change in personality, will help her incite revolution and change the status quo.

I'm not sure about the bully. His molestation seems especially unforgivable, but he also seems to have a childhood history with her, suggesting that he isn't irredeemable.

Anyways, I'm excited to read your whole novel that starts this way, ;)

LOVE THIS WORK.

Sort:  

Now, see, that's a comment right there.

Thank you, Brendan. I also love such stories and now I'm going to have to google Name of the Wind. Have you ever read the "Magician" books by Raymond E. Feist ? 'Think you might enjoy it, though it's been years since I read 'em.

You got quite a lot right! Though sadly, I'm not sure I'll be continuing with this story. It's meant to be part of the Chibera world and they've got a lot of their own backstory to write yet.

But yes, Selene and Gaillen would be friends later on, and yes, the mages are part of a big problem in the Chibera world. I imagine different factions though, with these "reptile elves" being one of the bad ones.

As for the medieval feeling, rich and poor, etc, I kinda had that isolated to the island, with the rest of Chibera changed so drastically that society would be kind of hard to imagine.

Thanks again for the proof-of-brain comment ;P I'm very happy that you liked it.

I think it's up to us to write the Chibera backstory. It's mostly a blank canvas.

Interestingly and delightfully, I think your vision and flavor could fit in with my own. This is a bigger city than I've written yet, but I wouldn't be surprised if our characters crossed paths.

If you do keep going, I'd be interested in a collaborative crossover with you. We could discuss our characters appearing in the background of each other's stories or even teaming up for a climactic moment or having a small but pivotal interaction.

Feist sounds familiar, but I don't think I've read his work. My favorite authors are Ursula LeGuin, L.E. Modesitt, and Michael Ende... Well, I have a lot of favorite authors, Mark Twain also springs to mind...

Anyway, if the blockchain were functioning normally, I'd expect this to get a @curie. Dunno what will happen since #hf20 was so recent.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 60865.75
ETH 2381.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57