Wish You The Best

in #writing7 years ago

I wrote this a while ago, at the beginning of a new month. Received so many new month wishes that made me wonder about the importance of wishes, and this is my conclusion:

myths-legends-wishing_well-wish-fairytale-fairy_tale-fairy_story-dcrn1326_low.jpg
Picture Source

If you've lived long enough like I have, this would be the 256th month of your existence. So it probably should sound boring hearing new month wishes. Come on, I've heard them before, even in every single sad month I've ever had.

I mean, if they were horses I should have at least 256 horses, not counting season's greetings and the ones that come on birthdays.

Yet we love wishes. We say thank you to every good wish as if it's a gift, like it's worth something. I guess it's the best we can give when we have nothing, and the icing on the cake when we can afford something.

Still, half of them never come true, and if they did, it couldn't just be the product of shooting stars or nickels and dimes in some mysterious well.

Or maybe we unconsciously still believe in such things. Else, how come the practise hasn't gone obsolete, and we'd appreciate them even when they come so late.

I think wishes are like superstitions, a fault in the human autonomous philosophy that shows he's inadequate, that he wants someone greater than his kind to intervene. He believes in someone divine.

And truthfully, in my 256 months of existence I've learned that I'm inadequate, that I'm not smart enough, fast enough, powerful enough.

I don't have all the answers, and sometimes, I ask the wrong questions. And unlike those on a quest without a compass, thinking if they keep moving in circles they may one day stumble into Paradise, I do not fail to realise that I need divine guidance. I need divine intervention.

So yes, I still make wishes, and mine represent hope. Mine is me hoping for the best as every new season approaches. Mine is faith, asking the Rock of Ages to kindly intervene, admitting constantly that I lack what it takes. Mine is a prayer that avails even when circumstances fail.

So, I wish you the best, and I hope you value it serious, because in a world that's fallen, this is all we have left. I wish you the best, and let it be the main dish, anything else that follows is just icing on the cake. They are more precious than horses, they travel places that nothing else can.

Yea, this maybe your 300th time, but take it like it's your first, and if you ever say it, let it be heartfelt: I wish you the very best... I wish you the very best.

IF YOU LIKE THIS AND YOU WANT TO SEE MORE, PLEASE DON'T FORGET TO FOLLOW ME. THANKS FOR READING.

Sort:  

@royrodgers has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond. To be Resteemed to 4k+ followers and upvoted heavier send 0.25SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

God bless you for this. I have followed you already

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64647.93
ETH 3160.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09