I Want To Be Apollo, Here's Why

in #writing6 years ago

download.jpeg

Actually, the title should read “I Want To Be a God” but I figured it could be offensive to some and a put-off to others. Well, here we are. Let’s get started

The Problem | What I Am

I’m a writer, although if you ask me to defend that statement, I can’t. I mean, just because you clack away against a keyboard doesn't make you a writer. But I am. Better still, to be on the safe side, I think I am one.

The problem is I am not the writer I wish to be. Folks say I’m too hard on myself. Well, I’ve read a lot of awesome stuffs and I wonder how they do that. I mean, I just finished a book that won like three awards, and it was written by a Nigerian too. Of course, in my opinion, the book has its flaws - for one, it was too slow paced; I prefer a fast moving plot. “But Gray, that writer is better than you. Deal with it!”

In times when I am not comparing myself to others, I am comparing myself to myself. Here it is: I have written awesome stuff too, at least that's what many people say. But I often find it hard to keep up, you know. There are times I want to write something dope, like really good. So I propped up myself on a chair, bring my laptop closer and begin to massage the keys. In my mind, I am creating something of beauty; by the time I am done, I am like: “OMG! What is this?” It’s like dreaming of a smoking hot girl with amazing features and waking up to see an ogre. (No offence meant, if you’re into ogres.)

And when I am neither comparing myself to others or to myself, I am busy struggling with my muse. Heck, I had to take a one week break to get her back in bed. She said I using her solely to make money. That I didn’t care about her feelings, what she wants me to write and the amount of time she wants me to spend with her. And it’s true. Those days, I did nothing creative until I wanted to apply for a contest. So I would roam through Steemit, get one contest and stare at the prompt for hours with nothing to write. Well, I’m back to reading and playing. These days, she had been forcing me to pay the price. I read a lot now; and also try to do things that enhance my creativity.

The Solution | Be A God

I wanted to spell the ‘God’ in small letters but I felt it would ruin everything. i would have written everything in small letters but I like to title the first letter of everyone in my tittles and subtitles. You see, I’ve got too many shenanigans. Who know who else has many shenanigans? Greek gods.

There are so many Greek gods, almost twenty of them. Each of these gods have human-like traits. They feel love, jealousy, anger, betrayal… you get the gist. What’s more, they’ve got the little things they take seriously, like capitalising the first letter of every word in their titles and subtitles.

Now, being a god has so many privileges. First off, you are immortal. Or so it’s supposed to be. Greek gods are different from the typical gods. They can be hurt pretty badly. They can procreate. And in some versions, one or two gods have been killed. But generally, they live forever.

Imagine I could live forever. Man, I’ve got all time in the world to create awesome stuff. But that’s not all. Certain gods have certain domains over which they exercise control over. I am a writer so I’ll stick with the creative arts. Enter in Apollo, the god of archery, music, poetry, prophecy and medicine.

The Result | TheGrayApollo

If I were to be a god, I would be Apollo. I’m not sure but it seems most greet gods were white. Well, I’m a black nigger so Apollo would have to be black (if I were Apollo.) I’m not really that dark, you know. More like chocolate. Mixed that with some white skin genes, you might get something gray. I guess, due to my colour, the other gods would be like TheGrayApollo.

So Apollo is the god of music, poetry and prophecy . There are are other stuffs but let’s stick with these three. Imagine I was the god of music. Man, I would be the best. I see a lot of music contests around on Steemit but I’ve never applied. You know why? I’m a bad songwriter, a very bad one. That leads to the second one: Poetry.

I write poems once in a while. But unless my muse specifically instructs me to write and gives me the words and imagery, whatever I write will just be a bunch of words forced to copulate together. As you can expect, I breed hideous monsters sometimes. I mean the kinds of poems you’ll read and feel like using the flag option.

And there’s prophecy. I like to think story telling is prophecy. I write a lot of stories. Yeah, you have a story/fiction contest coming up, let me know. I am, by default, interested.

So how’s story telling related to prophecy? Well, in prophecy you are trying to talk about a possible future, right? Or narrate past prophecies that have come to pass. Well, that right there is story telling. I like to think story tellers are prophets who use lies (fiction) to tell the truth.

All Hail TheGrayApollo

So there you have it. I want to be a god. To be in charge of the writing domain. I want to be able to create dope stuff at will and win all of the awards and the rep. That’s what gods do. I also want to have the girls wanting me. (Currently, I’m just the weird nerd at the corner they only need to proofread their essays.) Of course, my muse would be Athena, Goddess of Wisdom, War, and Useful Arts.

Athena is a fairy one, just like my muse so I think we’ll get along well. She had a bad temper, likes to create stuff and is always interested in learning. She likes to be active a lot, but only in creating good stuff.

Unfortunately, this is all a wish. I’m going to reread this piece, hoping it is as dope as I imagined it in my head.

The end.

This is my entry for the 'If you could be anything, what would you be and why' contest by @wolfje

Thanks for reading

Blessings

[Image Source: Hobbydb]

Sort:  

Trust me am amazed at the way you put up this dope post, it's so free thinking and interesting, you really defend the title of Apollo, sad enough whenever I met that word I remember there is a cataract kind of eye disease called Apollo.

Hello! I find your post valuable for the art community! Thanks for the great post! ARTzone is now following you! ALWAYs follow @artzone and the artzone tag, and support our artists!

Congratulations!,@iamthegray Your post has been upvoted by Reach Out, which is proudly sponsored by @eturnerx. Our goal is to support Nigerian minnows on Steemit. Join our discord group https://discord.gg/NWAkKfn

Benefactor : @bleepcoin

Curator On Duty: Richie, the Manual Bot

We invite you to the @eoscafe community [https://discord.gg/wdUnCdE]

Congratulations!,@iamthegray You just got upvoted 100 %via my Upvoting Shower (using steemib)

Also,We'd like invite you to the @eoscafe discord community https://discord.gg/wdUnCdE , be part of something great

Great entry, thank you and good luck!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by IamTheGray from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 66566.79
ETH 3333.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70