You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: On Writing

in #writing7 years ago

I'm glad to see I'm not the only one trying to cultivate a daily writing habit.

I agree that experimintation is key when it comes to becoming a better writer. It's important to know in what way your writing is the strongest, but it's also important to know where it might be the weakest as well.

Take myself for instance. I mostly write non fiction, so this year I'm making a point to branch out and work with more fiction and poetry. I think it's important to not let yourself get 'stuck' in a box when it comes to writing, because only focusing on what you're good at can backfire and keep you in too confined a 'box' to ever move from being a good writer to a great one.

In any case, you've earned my upvote! Would love for you to stop by my latest post if you feel so inclined. Can't wait to hear what you think if you choose to do so! : )

Sort:  

@iamjustinscott. Thank you for stopping by and engaging. I see your point. I am in the same boat. I only write non-fiction now and most of it technical. I used to write poetry but lost the habit along the way. Funny how adulthood can compel us to conform to all these social norms and kill our creativity. I read your post and it is truly inspiring and you sir got my upvote as well for it. That post deserved it and I wish and hope that more posts like those get upvoted. Keep writing and keep up the good work!

You as well my friend, lets both keep working hard to reach new creative heights!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57393.77
ETH 2439.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33