Show me the Stars

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

121652-a-girl-watches-fireworks-explode-over-washington-during-independence-d.jpg

Show me the Stars


I opened my eyes, the sky laid bare.
No light in sight, but the candle in my hand.
In this endless void, I’ve found something to care,
A flower most beautiful in all the land.

In this barren planet, I wonder where it came?
With no life in sight, I admire her beauty.
She seeks my light, so I share her my flame,
Through the fire, we sleep sound and safely.

The empty sky suddenly shone a bright light,
A light so bright unlike my measly flame.
It settled on my planet with a human in sight,
Asking for rest as his tired body is to blame.

I asked the stranger, what illuminated this land,
He pointed at a huge contraption from afar.
I draw near to see something grand,
He lit up the space, saying it’s like a glowing star.

I had to ask him, Mister, what is a star?
Flabbergasted as words came from my mouth.
Gazing at the lifeless sky, he searched really far,
He was uplifted to share what stars are all about.

He boasted the elegance of a starlit sky,
Insisting that I should see the world outside.
Overwhelmed with joy, I could almost cry,
But one look at my flower, all those feelings died.

I can’t bring myself to leave her alone,
I rejected his offer, and remained by her place.
Sad, the visitor bid farewell in a somber tone,
Promised to bring me a star in this lifeless space.

Time passed without rest as I grew lifeless,
But none mattered as long as my flower blooms.
Feelings of regret, I tried to suppress,
Hopes of seeing a starlit sky before my doom.

As my body withered, I was graced a presence,
The visitor whose promise I’ve been seeking.
I’ve waited so long that I’ve lost all sense,
The time is now, hurry, for the clock is ticking.

He asked for my light to show what I’ve awaited,
He set fire to a rope, until it reaches the end.
My flame was dying, I dropped half-dead,
Until I heard a loud noise that made my ear rend.

I saw vivid colors blast into the black, silent sky,
Illuminating light over this abode of nothingness.
A beauty so unreal, I couldn’t believe my eyes,
Rewarded, now I rest on the arms of a goddess.

As the sparks died out, so did my eyesight,
My body withered away, as all colors turned gray.
The visitor packed, preparing for his flight,
Crying as it seemed he had something to say.

“I wish I could’ve brought a real star today,
Unlike fireworks whose beauty fades away.”


...

Thank you for reading. I wrote this narrative as an allegory of life. As you can see, I used The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-Exupéry as the inspiration for this poem. Let me know what you thought of this poem. It'd be fun to read your insights and interpretations.

That's all. Have a great day :) Follow me for more writing and poetry. I'll occasionally post art so watch out for that.
#ocd-resteem

Sort:  

That was absolutely beautiful, I loved every minute of it. Fantastic imagery (also I LOVE The Little Prince, I was actually thinking of it as I read your poem before you explained that).

Thanks haha. I really loved how The Little Prince used symbolisms so I was really inspired by that.

You are a 5-star poet.

Hey thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56688.84
ETH 2388.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28