[blog] Mjölnir and me

in #writing7 years ago

Mythology, Technology and Nature


While outside earlier during today's heavy snowstorm -messing about with a fixed zoom manual lens I bought a while back- I experienced some good ol' fashioned godly nature.

Thor and Zeus. In the form of lightning brighter than the midday overcast sky and, in the deafening sound of rolling thunder. Unfortunately it caught me off-guard and by the time I realized what was happening it was already too late to capture any of it.

The lighting flash, which looked like a floodlight on a movie set flickering on and off, lasted less than 1-2 seconds. And it was during the day, when the snow-ridden sky was a bright grayish color. Not a sight I'm used to seeing in a snowstorm - lightning.

Then came the intense and unnervingly long rumble of thunder. It lasted a “quick” 5-10 seconds. But count that out in your head, 1, 2, 3, 4.... and imagine the largest waves crashing onto a rocky beach, mixed in with a few boulders tumbling down a jagged mountainside.

I really only realized what it was in the finals seconds of thunder, connecting the dots back to the flash of lightning.

DSC_0057baB.jpg
Quick hand sketches I made then traced in illustrator, of two different versions of Thor's hammer. The name of his hammer is what I used for the title of this post.

Unfortunately I don't have any of that documented. Not audio, not video nor any still images of the lightning flash and thunder clap. I do have a short video of the few shyte-y photos I took and the self re-enactment of my reaction to the Thorzeus.

I made this video first on Snapchat before uploading to YouTube.



Winterized Fig Tree in the Storm.jpg
The winterized fig tree coverings doing work during the storm.

Next snowstorm I'm setting up cameras!

I'm also planning to do a follow up article on my recent seven-day black and white photo challenge posts. So stay tuned for that. It will be godly. Thanks for stopping by!

Sort:  

I'd be happy though if the next snowstorm was next year... it's not the snow that I despise but the wetness. It's too warm already for a snowstorm for me. Please no, Zeus.

Pretty pikczers!
I saw the lightning and heard the thunder during my lunch break at work. It was intense. I had the zeushiva-revelation face too.

Yeah next snowstorm lets pray for something out of a movie... no dark sludgy city snow. no slippery sidewalks. no train delays. snowmen and reindeer. yuletide. all that shyte.

The lightning and thunder were awesome. It was moon-like that you saw it too - from relatively far away.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 59439.79
ETH 2290.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48