Reason 827346 why I quit drinking, memoirs of a drunk.

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

I was in Montana, near Helena, maybe an hour or two outside of it, I had been there once before and was excited about being there again. I had just returned from a 4 month voyage on a (dry)work boat and was happy to see friends, be able to walk more then 50 feet in any direction and most of all get a few drinks in me. Now, like I stated earlier, I had just gotten back from sea, where I regularly worked shifts ranging as light as 12 hours and long as 48 (sometimes longer), So my sleeping schedule was a little erratic. Because of this sleeping schedule and all the excitement I had pulsing through me I didn't sleep the first two nights I was there. I was staying at a friends place, not just me but a whole convoy of friends, there property line ended where the national forest began and the terrain was wild and beautiful, just mountains and trees. I spent my first two days and nights there reminding everyone how nice it was not seeing me for months. All I did was drink and run amok amongst my naive friends. I caught a turkey and put it one friends car (they had a few as pets), I filled anothers sleeping bag full of crawdads, I was kinda just being a jerk.

By the third night I was still feeling restless, so I decided to take a midnight hike through the woods, I figured if I just walked in one direction all I had to do was turn around and walk back, solid reasoning, right? Now if you know me, you'd know I have terrible sense of direction, son of two couriers but I can't find my way out of the shower half the time, but I had route figured out so all was good. I decided all I needed for this little walk was a fifth of vodka and a pack of smokes and I was solid to go. I'm still not sure how far I made it out before fatigue finally hit me, but the bottle was getting real dry so I decided to kick back on large of logs.

I woke up without much to my name but that empty bottle, I had a cell phone, but there was no service this far from town. It was the middle of summer and the sun was already making its presence, it was a dry hot heat with temperatures reaching around 100 degrees and I was lost, pretty good too, If it hadn't been for all that vodka pumping through me I probably would have been a little upset, but I figured all I had to do was walk around a mountain or two and I would be back in town, make a couple calls and I would be back at the house getting blasted off keg beer and one of monarchs finest spirits. I started on my walk and step by sobering step I became increasingly more aware I was in grizzly bear and mountain lion country, if I was on the wrong side of the fence in another locals property that wasn't so friendly of strangers, the fact that I hadn't anything but booze in me for the last day at least, I just kept walking down, hopefully closer to something or someone. Maybe 8 hours passed by, before I finally made my way to a dirt road, my salvation. I walked that road for hours unaware of whether I was walking the right direction or not, if I was headed to town or maybe deeper into the mountainside, maybe it was an old hunting trail that petered into nothing, I just kept walking, still thinking of all those big cats and bears people loved talking about. Finally an old truck came rattling by and I was able to flag them down, they really didn't know what to make of me and after I was finally able to convince them that I was truly just a lost idiot from out of state they reluctantly gave me a ride to town so I could find a payphone. I was pretty far out, but somehow I recognized the road to the house I was staying at and I hopped out and stumbled my way back to my community. There was a search and rescue team they needed to call off, there were neighbors they had to contact to settle down, there was a few people on alert.

After choking down more water then I thought I'd ever be able to drink I was able to get back to my routine of keg beer and marlboros. The only difference was they bought me a dog tag(which you can see in the picture) I had to wear (with there address and phone number on it) before I was let out of the house again. I had a few sunburns and some scratches but I was good.
montana.jpg

Sort:  

Hahaha, they gave you a dog tag! That's awesome. Good story. Definitely awesome seeing you with some hair on your head, bud!

Hahah, sounds like something I would do!

Congratulations @honeycombwinnie! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Well that's one way to get a wake-up call. Glad you made it through in one piece, man!

thank you man, I didn't get hip for maybe another 6 years, but I'm thankful for the stories

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69942.87
ETH 3793.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73