What is it About Birds?

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

Why are they so interesting and charming? I can't help it, I love them!

I have expanded his name to Charles Wallace. Seriously you guys, he's gotten to the point where he comes when I call!

Which of course means he is a super smartie! If you get the literary reference, kudos to you!

0427180925a.jpg

He's also a bit of a sassy thing, so, so adorable!

0427180925.jpg

Problem is, my coworkers have taken to harassing him just to annoy me. They think it's funny to get a rise out of me.

I'll never understand why people feel the need to be so freaking irritating. Charles Wallace isn't hurting anybody.

Also, today after work, this little Pidgey came right up to me! Eeee! So sweet!

0427181551.jpg

I'm just going to keep loving them. The birds that others call vermin. To me they're the sweetest, most trusting little darlings.

Do you have any unusual animal loves? Tell me about them!

Sort:  

gulls are smart for sure

Hello, what a nice bird! I love birds. If I could be reborn, some serious animal would be in a bird, especially a seagull. I think they have a fun life, full of freedom, nature and adventure. Your only danger, people like your friends who do not appreciate the beauty of nature. regards

Yes! Freedom!

They are, to me, the freest of all creatures. They are not beholden to anywhere. Such a romantic notion to be able to go where you want, when you want.

It would be an interesting way to live. 💜

Lol literally am friends with a Charles Wallace

hehehe It will be a good friend!

Haha, awesome! His parents have good taste. ;)

I am obviously very fond of cats, but love all animals in general! However. It is on my bucket list to volunteer some time at Best Friends Sanctuary in Utah and work with the exotic rescued birds there!! When I was a kid, I grew up in a small town, and the local printer, Raymond, had a pet cockatoo that on warm days sat outside the door and greeted everyone. He never ran away from the shop. Was that close to his owners. When I lived in Eagle county Co., my drive to and from work was partly next to the Colorado River and the raptor activity was AMAZING!! One day on the way back from lunch, a hawk was literally hanging out by the stoplight outside of work, tearing into his lunch with not a care at all about the cars passing!! Another time, on a road trip, abald eagle was tearing into fresh road kill on the very edge of the highway that cars were flying by on! I also saw, one time, an eagle of some kind dive into the large pond in town one day, and scoop up a fish!! ❤️ pidgeons too!! I find their cooing sound very comforting! Now for all the raptor sitings I've had, in a state where bears roam into town constantly, as well as mountain lions, (and having lived in Colorado since I was 7-almost 45 years), I didn't see my very first bear until summer of 2015!!! And have never seen a mountain lion!😢😕

I've seen all of the local canines, wolf, coyote, fox. And bears. Never any of the cats, they're so elusive! We have cougars, bobcats, lynx etc.

We have a ton of huge raptors here, too! So many bald eagles and golden eaglea and hawks and osprey and such, so cool!

What kind of bear did you see?!

And on the cats...here 45 years. Not a single Mtn lion and someone down in Denver.......IN DENVER....got on video 4 mtn lions in their back yard. It is just not FAIR! Hrrrmph!!

Wild!

For us, here, the DNR is still in denial that mountain lions are here, but people catch them on trail cameras.

Interesting!! Kinda like Lochness or big foot, but not.

Lanky black bear. Solid but not super heavy. We looked at him, he looked at us and booked! Lol

I think it's all luck. In my youth I saw a baby bear while coming back from a canoe trip, playing in the middle of the road with a paper bag, not a care in the world.

People get lots of pictures of them in town, and my kids saw one on the bus to school last week!

Yeah luck is generally not something I'm blessed with. Well..not good luck

Birds are awesome! Mind you, I'm a CAT and I also find them to be very tasty...

OK, that was just a bad joke. But yes, birds can be pretty amazing. We used to have parrots in the house and they co-existed quite happily with the cats... super intelligent creatures!

=^..^=

Good afternoon @hickorymackenzie! I love birds too!! (shhhh! Except pigeons .... don't know why but they are so irritating!!) And, i also share that thing where if you care about something people start to irritate you about it. What is that? Any psychologists in the haus?? Your Charles Wallace is a handsome bird!!! You're like the bird whisperer! Have a great weekend!

Some day I shall have a pigeon and I will put pictures of it on all of your posts. Muahahahaha!

Just kidding. Haha!

And I know right! I tell Charles Wallace how great he is every day. Lolol

😂🤣🙈 Pretty Bird!!

Nice bird photos😍👍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59329.11
ETH 2528.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47