Walkin' in a Winter Wonderland #3.

in #writing6 years ago

Last night we were told to expect between 6 and 9 more inches of snow. Lady Superior being the alpha female she is, decided she wasn't putting up with that shit. Our temperature was too warm and we got a crap ton of rain, instead.

Duluth being Duluth, every school around us is either closed or delayed. But those school buses going straight up hill on ice slicks? Yeah, those are running as usual, if a few minutes behind.

20190107_075619.png

What happens when you get several inches of winter rain? A slushy, slippery, sodden fawking mess, that's what.

20190107_075811.png

The puddles are ankle deep and ice water cold. It gets in your shoes and soaks your socks. Imagine freezer burn you cannot get away from.

20190107_075740.png

Someone on a previous post had mentioned how quaint and romantic the cobblestone streets and sidewalks of our downtown are.

Let me tell you. Cobblestone at these angles, when iced, or slushed or excessively wet in any way, is not romantic. It's fecking dangerous. That stuff is slick enough on its own without the help of nature. But the tourists like it. Those people who aren't here between December and March. And they're the money makers for this town. 😒

20190107_075829.png

Plows are pretty innefective against water. My first bus ran so late I missed my second bus today which is why I had time to wander around downtown a bit this morning.

20190107_075639.png

I'm finally on the second one heading up the hill and they clearly got more snow than rain up here, further from the lake. It's super foggy, too, which I actually enjoy. 💜

Wish us luck in Duluth today, I'm hoping everyone gets where they need to be safely! Have a great day you guys, love to you!

Sort:  

Good luck everyone in Duluth!! Get out your ice grips icarumba! Here i hear the call of the birds they are so happy it's the oddest spring like calls or happiness calls not sure. While i adore and thrive hearing the sound, they are so soothing to the soul and bring healing and clarity it is odd for us to hear it this time of year around here! Not sure what to make of it tbh. Please be safe out there @hickorymack. Glad you could connect and let us know what's up in your community. Hugs!

Oh man, I wonder what they're up to! Is it unseasonably warm there, too? Perhaps the animals are confused. 😞

Snow is beautiful.....when you are inside and don't have to do anywhere. :-)

Last year during the winter season, we received a thick layer of ice. One of my dog's didn't listen and partially slide down our driveway. I had to get a regular shovel to break up the layer of snow/ice/snow so that my dogs could get enough of a grip on the ground to do their business. Needless to say, it was kinda fun to watch the chickens slide on the ice. Me? I had to do a little crab walk action since I was afraid of breaking a leg or worse on the slick conditions. Fun times in Kansas!

Wow that sounds intense! Must have been hard not to giggle at their struggle on the ice, lol!

One of my dogs is such a tender foot I am looking into booties for her. She's always been a freeze baby compared to our other dog.

It was a little scary since she was so old (16 years at the time). I had to drop to my knees and grab her quickly since the ice was dangerous for all.

And yes, some dogs prefer the cold while others seem to prefer to hibernate until spring. :-)

Yikes! Stay safe out there...

Thank you! The stories have been going all morning. Lots of people spun out in ditches, especially on the Trunk Hiway. Hi-way? Highway? How do I not how to spell that?! 😅

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62007.73
ETH 2389.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49