Unexpected Visitors.

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

About 4 or 5 days ago there was a post on our local Facebook pets page. A kitty needing a home. I am not in the market for new pets. I love and cherish those we have and know my limits.

But perhaps you remember the blog I wrote about this guy.

Screenshot_2018-02-14-15-51-02.png

Envy. My best friend. My broken heart. Lost to me in mid-September of last year while we were homeless. I have only felt that anguish twice in my life. The loss of my horse, and the loss of that cat.

Well, that local kitty looked a hell of a lot like my boy. The age they gave was close enough to the same that a vet could have made a guestimate.

It was with pure freaking desperation that I contacted this woman with a barrage of questions and sent her photos of my Envy.

Not for the first time I learned the kitty in question was not my boy. I thanked her for answering and went about my day.

Fast forward to yesterday. Inari ran some trash outside and yelled up the stairs "Can someone come help me?! There's a lost dog out here!"

20180826_215337.png

Naturally the first thing you do is look up and down the block to see if anybody is looking for her. Then check the tags. Her name is on both sides. No owner information.

Took her picture and brought her inside while posting her on the lost pets pages.

20180826_215316.png

She kept nipping the kids and Hiro and Ella. Hiro thought it was great fun. Ella thought she was the single most obnoxious thing in her life.

My friend @abigscheit saw the posts and called. She took the doggie to the local shelter to get her checked for a microchip. No chip. Please people. If you aren't going to chip your pet, put your damned number on its tags!!!

Her owner still has not been located. Tomorrow I will be picking up some tape and nails to post signs around the area.

This morning I got a message from the person with "not Envy". She was unable to find someone to take the cat. Her ex wants him out today and if she cannot find someone he is going to the pound.

So I asked the responsible questions. Has he been vetted? Any special dietary needs? Any health issues?

None. He's as healthy as any 10-year-old cat be.

So he's here tonight.

20180826_215249.png

Sloth looks so much like my Envy that I cried for roughly an hour. And then on and off here and there since. I am emotionally wrecked by the resemblance.

I already love this cat so much.

But she lied to me. He's thin. Probably 2 pounds underweight which is lot for an animal of 7 pounds.

He has diarhea with traces of blood. Classic Colitis. This kitty needs medical help. I messaged her and she has no idea how it could have happened.

I'm livid on his behalf. The food they have him on was some dollar store brand crap that will only make the problem worse.

20180826_215219.png

The dogs upset him and Dragon has been yowling at him. This is NOT the environment a cat with colitis needs as stress can make it worse. I'm so sad for him.

I'll do my best little Sloth. I'll get you through this, sweet, sweet boy.

Keep him in your thoughts. 💜

Sort:  

Oh, it upsets me when people are so dishonest. Like I'm sure she was just desperate to get him into a home and not euthanized, but still. Or else she was just so oblivious she didn't notice the blood. I hope he feels better soon and that you find the doggie's humans. 💜 You have such a good heart. Now if only the good hearts had deep pockets...

Ohhhh babies 🙏💜💛💚💙❤ all good prayers and blessings your way. HUGS to help you manage this bumpy ride.

Dachshunds were originally bred to fight badgers.

Hi @hickorymack, I'm @checky ! While checking the mentions made in this post I noticed that @abigschiet doesn't exist on Steem. Maybe you made a typo ?

If you found this comment useful, consider upvoting it to help keep this bot running. You can see a list of all available commands by replying with !help.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 64876.28
ETH 2650.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81