Making some life changes.

in #writing5 years ago

Last Saturday my phone went dark. No service, and I have not been able to turn it back on yet. No internet, no access to #steem or the book of many faces or Netflix. No ability to look up random facts as the thought comes to mind. Not knowing things. What's this about Trump serving fast food at the White House?!

The worst is the music. It's quiet at home without.

It's definitely shown itself to be an addiction. I will pick up my phone and no fucking joke, sad as it is, I'll just look through my photo gallery. 😂 Because having the phone in hand and scrolling has become as natural as breathing.

On the plus side.

Since Saturday, mind you. I have finished reading two books. One was garbage. Beware the free Kindle books. I paid with my time I swear. The other was one I wish I had read sooner. Ender's Game. Holy crap!

I have spent more quality time with my kids. Not just helping with homework and feeding them, but more snuggling, more talking, more playing.

I have written seven chapters. 23,000 words. Since. Saturday. What?! My "writers block" is in reality a fucking internet addiction!

My house is squeaky clean. My dogs have been getting 2 walks a day. Depression is plateaued.

Things at work have been steadily getting worse. By tomorrow I will have my phone back. I have gathered recommendations. From ex-managers.

On saturday after work I will take the kids to the library and work on my resume. I will drop it on every hospital job opening I can find.

This is happening.

I will not be returning to full time blogging anytime soon. Writing is important to me and I want to keep working on this book. My SP has been delegated out, split between 4 people I trust.

When I come back it will be with the force of a storm. Good things are happening you guys.

It's the year of the vegan! I love you all, I'll check in. See you around!!

Sort:  

I'm amazed at your productivity! And wish you so much luck with the job search and book! 💛

Hi!! Feels like ages since i've seen you for some reason 🤷‍♀️

I agree! How are you? 😊

One day at a time Phe! I am good. Glad to be alive and recovering though the process is ..... well there are no words. I have good things to look forward to and feel as though i am learning a lot. Financial suffocation, as you know well too, is so taxing 😰. Just doin'my best. One (too slow imo) step at a time. How are you?

Oh man, I feel you. "Financial suffocation" is an accurate term.
I'm doing OK. I discovered last night, after I was feeling progressively more terrible throughout the day, that I have a slight fever. Oh! That explains that. Haha. A friend was kind enough to bring me some ginger ale (I always keep that on hand but was running through it fast because sick), and the kitties have been good nurses. The headache is finally gone this morning - hooray! So on the mend, I think.

You sound so bubbling with energy it's given me goosebumps Hickory! I will miss you around here and I'm so happy for you!!! Keep us posted with updates I hope!!

Totally agree with your thoughts Lynds ❤

Isn't it great when you can turn something that seems like a bad thing into a learning experience? I don't have a smart phone but I do love my research on my computer. :-)

Since I love to knit, I will spend time listening to podcasts or audio books while I knit. I do love the idea of doing multiple tasks at the same time. And with podcasts or audio books, I get to use my imagination. Bonus!!

Be well. Good luck with your job search (and move??).

You could also sell upvotes through Smartsteem, too. That way, you could come back to some extra steem and SP in your wallet.

They use referral links, doesn't cost you a dime, but they pay me for the upvotes you sell. If you're willing, I'd love a little support:

https://smartsteem.com?r=ddrfr33k

I am with Lyndsay & Phoenix! Good for you ❤🎶💯 i totally did the same thing and started scrolling pics when i turned off my phone internet access. The funnest was scrolling through texted pics i had with my kids!! LOL some gooders in there. Thank-you so much for entrusting me to do well with your SP. I will do my best HUGS ❤❤❤

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61191.20
ETH 2972.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48