It Just Keeps Getting Worse.

in #writing6 years ago

I went to the doctor today with every intention of having Cortisone injections in my feet. The pain has lasted since sometime around January, enough is enough.

I walked in, he looks at my feet and gives me the low down.

Before considering someone for Cortisone shots for Plantar Faciitis he requires they do everything I have done. Presnizone, failed. Better shoes, failed. Inserts, failed. Months of extensive physical therapy, failed.

There is an option other than the cortisone shot that works more gently, and has a greater success rate. It is used in schools and by athletes all around the country. My insurance will not cover it and I do not have $700 for it.

So, I have to wait one more month. On Oct. 2nd I will be getting Diagnostic Ultrasound done on both feet.

20180910_150837.jpg

Because, if we go ahead and do the Cortisone, there is a chance it will not work. I will then have to wait 3 more months and have the surgery.

So, they want to find out ahead of time if I need the surgery anyway, because they will do that route if necessary, though it is unlikely because I am young.

The shots will be incredibly painful and will take 2-10 days to work. There is a 15% chance, that's about 1 in 6, that the shots will rupture my tendons. In which case, once again, I will need surgery anyway.

If the cortisone goes well, I could see vast improvement.

I'm so exhausted. I just want it to be over. I bawled my eyes out all the way to the transit station just thinking about the options ahead of me and the pain of another month to go.

If it weren't for my kids I'd probably have turned to Marijuana by now.

I just want to feel good again. Wake up without pain, walk like a normal person. Can this just be over please?

Sort:  

Why is marijuana as medicine conflicting with you being a parent if you don't mind me asking?

Because on Halloween of last year CPS knocked on my camper door. Being homeless got child services sicced on me.

MMJ is illegal here for my condition, and I won't gice those bastards any excuse to look my way.

I was afraid it was the dreaded parent police, hope you get some relief.

You poor thing. You're really having a terrible time of it. My heart goes out to you.

Being in pain and financially in a (constant) pinch on top of it SUCKS! I wish i could help you feel more comfortable!!!!!! Icarumba!! Love, prayers and blessings my friend. HUGS!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63099.80
ETH 2455.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58