You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Immediocracy - The Power Of "In The Now"

in #writing8 years ago

Interesting that you provide the email example, currently I do a similar thing by reposting articles from Steemit to previous social media outlets I used in the past. It has taken several posts to 'gain' the interest of my fellows. 👍

Sort:  

I don't say the "old" way doesn't work anymore. As a matter of fact, it works a bit better than Steemit, if you already have a list. I'm saying that this "old" way is rapidly becoming obsolete. It's like chariots and cars at the dawn of the 20th century. Very few saw the potential of cars, because chariots and horses were kind of the main thing.

Seeing as I've only just started using the "old" way, I can really relate to your post. It is so hard to get a lot of followers or even views in such a saturated blogging market like Wordpress, let alone earn any kind of profit from it. And what about selling photographs on Deviantart? With the sheer amount of things already there, it's near impossible to even get noticed. If you do get noticed, you won't actually find any kind of reward really.
Steemit does reward you directly if you publish good content. Sure, it's still hard to really get noticed between the amount of posts, but whenever you do get noticed (and you share a good post), you'll actually see people appreciating you and you earn from it!
This last week I've really seen the benefit of Steemit, as opposed to things like Wordpress. I will still be using both platforms, but Steemit will be where I spend most of my time. The additional benefit here is the amount of interaction you get with others.

Congrats for already seeing benefits from Steemit! As for being hard to get noticed on Steemit, I will tell you one thing; right now, because the platform is incredibly new (less than a year on the market) the number of users is very small - there are around 2500 posts / day. Compare that with any other established social media.

On top of that, Steemit has this SteemPower thing which rewards commitment and gives you benefits as you grow.

Yes, you are absolutely right! I think everyone just starting out will just have to be a bit patient. I'm positive that people with potential and great posts will rise to the top eventually.

I'm still finding my way with the SteemPower, Steem and Steem Dollars thing. I think I'm starting to get a handle on it, but being a complete newbie on all things crypto, it's a lot to take in!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 61720.10
ETH 2429.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63