The Cat and the Goat, and their point of view.

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

It was a beautiful day, and the sun was shining. The birds were flying, enjoying the soft breeze. A flower reached for the brightness, and soaked it in, perfectly happy.

And a goat struggled its way up the shadowed side of a treacherous, dangerous mountain. The goat climbed, step by step, its hooves carefully planting themselves into the soil, and then it went up more and more, up the side of the mountain.

On the edge of a forest upon that mountain, a cat sat, grooming itself in the sunshine. Its fur was already sleek and shining, but it certainly wasn't enough, so the cat licked. A very silly kitty.

The goat took one more step, and found itself on a flat area, right near the edge of a mountain forest. The goat spotted the cat, and the cat spotted the goat.

But which was first? The cat stalked through the bramble and leaves, and went to the goat. "Hello there goat. Had I been bigger, you'd be my lunch, for my eyes are the sharpest and most precise, thus I most certainly spotted you before you spotted me."

The goat laughed, and shook its head. "I'm afraid not, dear cat. My eyes observe all, and never miss even a single detail. I saw you first most certainly."

The cat meowled with a bit of playful irritation. "Heh, not a chance. My eyes are like sharp knives, about to plunge into my prey. They have a most perfect view zone, which allows me to carefully target, and then... heh: Capture my prey, without ever missing a single paw swipe. Perfect accuracy for me."

The goat gave a bleat, and opened its eyes widely. "Not a chance. These goat eyes are wide, but flatly narrow, and see all around me. When I get to the top of this mountain, I will have the best view of all. No one would even be able to get near me without me spotting them first. I observe all things, and never miss even a single detail."

"Sure, but I see you squinting more than I do, whenever I'm too close. You can barely even see the ground at your feet, for its likely quite blurry."

The goat wouldn't have any of that, however. "And your eyes are too near-sighted to look around you and notice the bigger picture. You might see the most fine details up close, but upon a mountain, you'd look down and see nothing but a blur. Your eyes are only good for catching mice."

The cat shrugged. "Well, I suppose you're right. I can't see much distance, and you can't see very close to you, but I can see every detail up close, and you can observe the most large range around you."

The goat pondered. "So should we team up?"

The cat thought about it, and then nodded. "Sure. I'll find you the most delicious herbs with my careful analysis, and you keep me safe from wolves and those terrible large birds."

And thus the beautiful day ended with a new friendship made.

The snake nearby, having listened to the conversation simply tilted his head, and didn't think much of it. The snake's not an antagonist, but not really part of this story either. This entire paragraph is actually irrelevant, except for the fact that neither the goat nor the cat noticed him there, sunning himself in the grass, giggling at their naivety.

Thus the beautiful day ended with a new friendship made, and a snake basically just sat there unnoticed by both the cat and the goat. Hsss.

~Kitten

Sort:  

Ahh it looks my own cat Garry .(Female cat that was baptized by my nephew )

People often over quote Darwin with the cliche "survival of the fittest." Darwin actually spoke about cooperation far more than competition. Sounds like these two would make a good cooperative team.
Nice ending too.
:)

This is beautiful. I followed you could you please follow back. Also read and upvote https://steemit.com/literature/@maverick-99/greater-loss

Beautiful stories are very good,
And such pictures have never happened before

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Kitten from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

This post has received a 1.04 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63743.08
ETH 2657.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.87