You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How to Stay Connected While Writing Your Trauma

in #writing7 years ago

Trauma is my work, but I am not my work

This is such a powerful stament.

In my experience, I have discovered that when I'm happy, I rarely feel like I want to sit down and create something. I feel like somehow, my strongest emotions are those related to my traumas and my joyful moments pale in comparation. So I don't know how to portrait them in my art.

Maybe I just use my writing as a catharsis. To bleed my wounds into the paper so they can stop staining my life. So sometimes is very difficult to separate myself from my pieces. Seeing posts like yours, make me realize that it is possible.

I find your words very moving and I'll definitely try to adopt them into my life. Thank you.

Sort:  

Bleeding into the page is a great technique for self-care. If you work best when you engage hard topics, a worthy challenge is reframing those negative topics so they have positive endings. Another lesson I teach is we get to choose how our stories end. In doing so, we get to practice repatterning our thinking so we don't have to sit in negativity to reach positivity. In other words, we don't have to bleed to heal.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63064.93
ETH 2468.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55