Falling Short

in #writing6 years ago

I was reading a post by a fellow Steemian whose daughter has a medical condition. They do not have a complete diagnosis of the problem, but they are doing everything they can. Thankfully, apart from the few sick episodes the little girl is in good health. The underlying problem is yet to be completely diagnosed but I am hoping that they’ll be getting to the bottom of it anytime now.

In the mean time I just keep wondering and thinking what the condition of a parent would be, whose child’s health is in uncertainty? On his latest post I just couldn’t muster up the courage to say anything that would be helpful. So, like a chicken I just read the post and left without saying anything.

It has been boiling inside me for last several hours and so here are a few words that I wrote to make sense of the mess inside me

Heard a man’s solemn cry
I even saw his tears run dry
Then one day I met him on a street
I didn’t know how him do I treat

All the condolences sounded so small
Pain is known to the one who took the fall
So I gritted my teeth and balled my fist
Bowed my head and walked into the mist

How I wish I could have done something
Tried to have at least said something
All my concerns were a mere afterthought
In sight of what the pain to him had brought

Is this to be my fate for all time
To lose footing on empathy’s grime
Why can’t I just walk away
and let not these feelings hold me in sway

Usually I have so many words to share
So many ways to show my care
Yet in face of somebody’s pain
My words drowned in emotions rain

-hashcash

Don't worry about it too much. The little girl and her family are a happy bunch. I am worried that if they accidentally saw this post, they would be appalled at the way I have made it into this sad and serious situation............ please do keep in mind that all this mess is just in my head.

Sort:  

That mess is not in your head, it is in your heart...

Yeah I guess you are right! Makes it a bitch to wade through.

You have a kind heart <3

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks @soyrosa! I am a big old softie :-)

I also have problems in saying "I will pray for you "or something similar but I am sure it comforts the person in trouble. Next time just do it.

I think now that I must have been in a particular state of mind because if there was repeat scenario I would do it.

It is just that if I cannot be there for somebody, than I find little meaning in delivering words..... although I usually do try to say something

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64016.64
ETH 3498.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55