Pondering About Writing.

in #writing7 years ago

cairn

Sitting on small plastic chair at terrace locate on upstairs of my aunt factory. I pondered about what idea to write for this task (writing for young readers course at coursera), with a piece cigarette at my left hand. Suddenly I looked a small black insect had flown around spiny flower. The insect had flown near a flower and perched on flower pistil to suck a little bit honey then I looked up to grey cloudy clown. “ Oh, it will be rain at shortly time !”, I said it in my mind and had took my last smoke and put off that ciggaretes then went to inside my room, turned on my computer.

I login into my computer and take my smartphone, turn on hot spot mode to make connection internet network. To open my steemit page (social media platform) is my first action and read about feed, replies, my blog then I open new tab and remember to complete task on writing for young readers course. I read about guide how to complete that task and decide write about my recent activity.

It is hard for me to write in five hundreds words, especially in English language which is absolutely not my mother language. I ever joined training on journalism at Universitas Surabaya, the tutors gave me instruction to write about news in short paragraph but clearly to tell the whole story. They teached me to use simple words as I can to make readers understand about contain my writing about certain news.

I just realized that writing is important, it is like kind to speak with another way. You try to express and share your mind through combination of letters, words and sentences. Writing is not simple as we speak directly to another person. I am still pondering, why writing is quite difficult than speak directly (it is not include how to speak on public directly). We always take time to think when writing something, it is different with speaking. Speaking, we are only take one or two second to express it directly to other person.

Why writing is quite difficult, I do not exactly know about this answer. I also surprised and fascinated when Apriana Taylor (you can see at course video week one), have been teaching his student to write down fast on paper what inside their thinking or mind also express it into writing manner. He also said that mostly his student spend time to think about decision what kind idea will they make topic of their papers or writing. The students always think as say no to word that firstly to come out form their mind. This is one of barrier for most people to write about their idea into writing manner.

So I decide to practice to write, even it is hard for me especially write in foreign language (English language) which is not absolutely my mother language. Hmmm ! I hope God help me and you are readers could give me suggestion to make me better in writing. Let learn together to write !!!

Note: This article is part of my task at coursera.org (Writing for young readers course)


logogroup
verifiedsteemprenticesteemtrail

Sort:  

A writer is one who writes.
Writing IS much different than merely speaking.
More thought is required to write than to speak.
I can relate to English not being your mother tongue.
I speak Texan.

Yrs, you are right, writing is different than speak. One guest instructor in that course said that writing is compilation of decision, each word which written is part of your decision. Nice ! :)

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Apr 17. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $0.59 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Apr 17 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Excellent post dear friend @happyphoenix thanks for sharing your thoughts and your iteresante point of view

Thank you ! :)

Absolutely writing is harder than just speaking as for speaking we consume energy to think what to speak and to move our tongue. But for writing we have to think, visualize (use eyesight), use hands to type or write and also most often proof read. Writing is cumbersome @happyphoenix but bravo to you that you are still doing it even you have to do more work as English not being your mother tongue. Great, keep it up buddy :))

Thank you my friend. ! One of instructor also said you can see a photos have thousand words intrepetation, but on the other hand, words which we written is have meaning of thousand pictures among our readers. Nice ! :)

Very well said bro!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 53991.35
ETH 2418.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.16