You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Richest - Short Story

in #writing7 years ago

Did you by any chance watch the documentary, 'I Am'?
That's basically the lesson a Hollywood producer learned and he too sold his mansions and bought a small house and made the documentary.
In my personal life, I worked 3 jobs while raising a family and was not happy. Now I'm happy (hence the name happyme) living with just enough.

Sort:  

I haven't seen that documentary. I will have to check it out. :)

I wrote the story because there are so many people that envy the lavish lifestyle - when in reality, it comes at a cost. Chasing success seems fun because people put excess money and happiness in the same pool. I don't think money is the true key to happiness - it makes life easier (also harder too though). People can easily lose sight of the years they spend reaching for more money.

There are so many "unnecessities" in life (like fancy cell phones, video games, expensive cars, etc.) - but family time is a necessity.

I just wanted my story to share the lesson that living with less isn't a bad thing, because sometimes, like in the story, less is more :)

Thanks for sharing your story. I am glad you found your happiness! :)

What a lovely reply! You just gained a follower.
There are plenty of examples to confirm what you believe. Recently I watched an interview of 2 young people who escaped N. Korea. They now live in S. Korea and guess what both of them said? Even though people have much less in the N. they are overall happier than in the S.! Somehow we need to convince the capitalistic world that money does not equal happyness!

Thanks!

Somehow we need to convince the capitalistic world that money does not equal happyness!

I totally agree! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57621.01
ETH 3094.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32