You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: You Don't Need the Money. Day 21 of the Total Writer Transformation

in #writing6 years ago

Ahh, but it turns out I really do "need the money" - and have been working long hours in my new job as a high school teacher - which pays too little - and then there is the time consuming tasks of being a responsible father and husband... I'm finding it difficult to find 'time' to write.

I've got a couple of novels to write... gotta go... just popped back on steemit - to see if there is any comments - and there was yours... two months old...

Hope you are doing well... write write write!

Sort:  

Ah, yes, I too need the money. Wish I didn't but such is the world in which we live ;) And teachers pay... don't get me started on that. Of all people teachers are the ones who deserve the paycheck we hand to NFL players... The struggle is real.

But I digress...

When I first started making my writing career a priority I was working two jobs with only one day off- if a single mother of three athletic and ever-hungry boys ever actually gets a day off ;) I was leaving at 5:30am & not returning until 10pm. But I still made it a priority because I wanted to be able to stay home with my boys. Took a lot of hard work but I got there :)

But keep going. It will pay off!

Write on my friend. I expect to pick one of your novels off the shelf soon. And I am holding you to that. FYI.

Wow... Arbitrarykitten... Thank you for the words of kinship, encouragement and challenge!

  • and it's been 9 months... and I am just now logging back into Steemit - it has been that long - that would be one school term. I let my commitment to writing those novels get bogged down... I also got disenchanted with the Steemit platform as well - (the more I understood how it works - or I should say 'worked' - I have no doubt things have changed). It has been a bit of a year - learning the ropes of the new job, worrying if I'll get rehired (I just did), etc..

But, I'm back.

I even got back to writing my sci-fi novel last week. I am starting from scratch as so many new ideas and tech and new agendas are developing in the world at the moment that have an impact on the not-too-distant future setting of my novel...

Your note here is the first one I've seen since logging back in and it is a wonderful welcome.

Thank you so much. I owe you - as you are expecting to pick one of my novels off the shelf soon.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63396.80
ETH 2615.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.86