Jerk or critique

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

Josh.jpgJerk or critique?
I've recently signed up to an online critique website, and had a great deal of fun my first night, in a frenzy of editorial comments, general pointers, suggestions, and, perhaps unfortunately, some rather salty comments. Now, these are "newbie" stories, and the idea is to be polite, and go easy, so as to not discourage people from writing. But. Sometimes writing is so bad, that I just had to say something.

examples: big black car, and the red (rocket). "Kill shot", which I described as an adult video term, or name. A hyperdermic needle with a convoluted mechanism involving several other needles.

Still.

Before I ask my question, let me point out that I felt great doing this. I was filled with energy, a newfound enthusiasm for writing, and that special feeling from a hearty belly laugh. I also felt smarter, as though my brain was waking up after a long slumber. Truly. (For some context, I had recently taken an IQ test, and was semi-miserable with the result. "I kind of though I was smart." It's true only 50% can be above average, but that had been part of my identity, which had slowly been ground to dust by the EVIL CORPORATIONS.)

So my question is, when is it too much. If it's that bad, should be not point it out? If critisism hurts, doesn't it mean you really, really needed to hear it?

Thoughts or your own editorial comments, please.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61784.55
ETH 3389.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52