LESSONS IN LIFE AND LOVE / A COLLECTION OF POEMS

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

As a singer/songwriter, I recently (self)released a music album
called ''Lessons in Life and Love''. However, music didn't come first.

lilalll.jpg

It all started with lyrics. Ever since I started studying literature,
I had a thing for poetry. Of course, as a literature student,
one has to study all kinds of texts, mostly endless pages
of academic writing, novels that go on forever, ancient
roman texts and other unsatisfying books that just make you
want to forget about it all and get drunk.
Occasionally, you stumble upon a fantastic book
or a masterfully crafted poem and it all feels worthwhile again.
So yeah, poetry has always been my cup of tea.
Anyway, I wanted to make a really personal album,
dig deep into the things that troubled me throughout the years
and try to write them down the best I can. As things progressed,
I soon realized I wasn't making a music album at all.
I was writing a collection of contemporary poems about my life.
That's when I decided to name it ''Lessons in Life and Love''.

I would like to share some of them with you and see what you think of it.

Here's one I probably love the most.
It's called ''Grandead'' and it deals with the passing of my Grandfather
who I truly loved and admired.
I suggest you read the lyrics first and then hear what it sounds like.
(the video is still set to unlisted because it's not officially out yet
but you should be able to view it on this link)
grndd.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63114.90
ETH 2626.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72