Park Your Butt And Write!

in #writing6 years ago

Writing.png

Oh crap! It dawned on me that now I’m part of Steemit I'll have to park my butt on a chair and write every day. No matter how much I love writing, it doesn't always come easy. There are so many distractions and things to do!

So I thought I'll get myself on track by looking at a couple of opinions about writing. Some people call them myths, but I’ll rather go with opinions.

Opinion 1: It is easier to write in seclusion and silence

If you find it difficult to concentrate with other people and noise around you, you most probably agree.

On the other hand, maybe you get so immersed in your work that your surroundings don’t bother you.

Apparently Stephen King listens to rock (quite loud) while he writes.

Ernst Hemmingway spent many productive hours writing in bars.

I don’t like writing in total silence. When there is no sound in my immediate vicinity, I find myself getting distracted by far off noises. That's why I enjoy having a little background music while writing.

I've decided to do what works for me and not worry about how you are ‘supposed’ to do it.

Opinion 2: You Can’t Write If You’re Not Inspired Or “In The Mood”

Now let’s face it. If every writer had to wait for inspiration or be “in the mood” to write, we would have very few books around.

The days when you wake up full of inspiration, with words just waiting to pour out of you, are great and can without doubt spur you on. Unfortunately, for most of us, they don’t come around all that often.

So what do you do?

You get your butt on the chair and you write!

You will never become a prolific writer until you are willing to write every day. Even when it’s the last thing you feel like doing.

If getting published is something you really, really desire you have to persevere. Forget about inspiration and “being in the mood”.

That's why we have to sit down and write every single day. Even if we have to force ourelves.

NO. EXCUSES.

Who knows, Inspiration might even follow!

I could do with some more tips and tricks, so please let me know what works for you...

ThanksForStoppingBy.png

Sort:  

Congratulations @gozarla! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64741.88
ETH 3457.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55