Spell Check, Syntax & Your Homophones

in #writing7 years ago

I am OCD, and I'll be the first to admit it.
I am also a writer.
When you combine these two together, there isn't a day that passes when I don't want to bring out a red pen and start grammatically checking posts. (comma here, misspelled word there)

HOMOPHONES- Examples- to, too and two
TO- Going TO the library
TOO- Means also; I love you TOO
TWO- quantity; I have TWO apples

THERE- a place; I want to go THERE
THEIR- His or hers in the plural form; I visited THEIR farm once
THEY'RE- a contraction for THEY ARE; THEY'RE the best friends I ever had

ITS- a thing; A leopard changing ITS spots
IT'S- another contraction for IT IS; IT'S not that I don't like her, but...

Watch your SYNTAX too (ALSO), please
According to Literary Devices "Syntax is a set of rules in a language. It dictates how words from different parts of speech are put together in order to convey a complete thought."
Not to be confused with Diction, "Diction refers to the choice of words in a particular situation while syntax determines how the chosen words are used to form a sentence."

SPELL CHECK
Smart phones have it. So does Microsoft Word and Open Office. Instead of just typing your post in the steemit prepared 'submit a story' page, write it out first on Word. This should catch all the spelling errors; not so much the syntax and/or diction, but at least the misspelled words.

AND please, re-read your post before hitting the "POST" button. I re-read mine at least three times. And usually, because my fingers are slower than my brain, I see a missed word, or a missed letter. Makes a difference and then in return, it makes your post look more professional.
Maybe because I am treating steemit as a business instead of just social media and place to earn steem; I'm not sure, but I make sure I am putting out the best quality post to be read, and viewed. If you have to, and I do this sometimes too because I cannot edit my own work, I read the post aloud to myself- word for word. This helps me.
Also, re-read your post in the PREVIEW section- much larger to read and see the actual set-up of the post.

I hope I haven't offended anyone with this post, but some days it is very difficult to stay focused on the posters' words when I have to mentally filter through the errors; and on occasion, the headline and title of the post. It's just my OCD on overdrive.

SIGNATURE.jpgDQmWrXCPVGRFqdbXTXFjsQfhDXZys1FT3dWoX8LdXyK4XYv_1680x8400.pngDQmYXXHDrDwhEdyGeY3dmTFcG8swHjuLQeWMii6nJEZhGTB_1680x8400.png

Sort:  

@goldendawne
Oh know! Ewe half ben checking my posts two much hasn't you!?

I will trie too dew butter!!!
Follow me, I flag you. Yes!??

Is it OCD? I don't think so. We all make mistakes and typos occasionally, but it can be confusing and make it hard to read when there are too many glaring errors. Another thing that bugs me is when the wrong word is used because it maybe sounds similar; for example lately I see 'weary' being used when 'wary' is what they mean. Come to think of it, many people even say it wrong.

I know people think it's not that important and when you point it out you're just betting a grammar Nazi, but when you start to learn a bit about how the law and legal system work with regards language to trip you up, you realise that using the English language properly is important.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64999.89
ETH 3101.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87