Short story-cotton candy

in #writing6 years ago

It was a beautiful weather,not too sunny not too humid.The clouds hung like cotton candy in the sky,What a Sunday Pa chose to go meet his maker.I could hear ma's screams and the voices of the neighbors trying to comfort her.Aunty ibukun, one of the tenants had told I and tochi my brother to stay indoors and not come out.Oga Silas and Ahmed had helped carry Pa's body outside.Tochi, my younger brother who had cried himself to sleep was fast asleep beside me.I was glad I had stopped hearing his sobs and sniffling;they left me angry instead of sad.A wave of nostalgia swept me over.i think my mind hadn't yet understood the gravity of what happened.The only thing that cause me some hurt was mama's screams."it dey do me like say elephant dey stand on top my chest ".pa had complained yesterday.he was restless and ma had send tochi to go and buy some pain killers from the chemist across the street.mama compelled him to take his drugs and eat the last eBa with the egusi soup.i was angry at Pa,he shouldn't have let go so easily,he shouldn't have fought for his life knowing fully well that there was no money for a funeral. We held on to every last penny we have because our life actually depended on it but Pa just had to go. So every time I eat cotton candy I remember Pa.image.jpeg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63527.41
ETH 3109.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86