You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A short story about a tree.

in #writing5 years ago (edited)

I homeschool my son and presently we are studying ancient Egypt in history. This afternoon I read to him from a book of myths, the first being about Ra, the sun god. Ra travels across the sky every day, and at night he circles back through the underworld. In the morning he was a baby, and by evening an old man. Ra stated, "'What a journey. What a thrill.' He had to repeat it forever." Ra certainly was an optimist, but I agree with him, for the most part.

I see tracks around that tree, but I suppose hiking is good for you :)

Sort:  

Hiking is good for me, and the woods and the wilderness are good for me. Trees to hang myself from become trees to write about, cliffs to jump from become vantage points for beautiful photography, etc. This is how it is for many people. Perhaps I shall meet Ra some evening and speak to him about his journey.

I think of people in terms of light and dark. Neither is bad or good, just different. We are on opposite ends.

Evening is a good time to meet him I think. He is all wise and stuff then, and less blinding.

Plus, I don't like getting up early.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64686.77
ETH 3158.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57