The Journal, A Memoir, Pt 1 contd.

in #writing5 years ago

Journal Cover.jpg

 May 24th

In the night a tall man walks alone down a musty city alley dressed in black. Crows bounce off the ground picking at garbage. He reaches for his hat removing it as he walks deeper through the narrow passage. Puddles under his feet splash quietly as scattered raindrops fall from the towering buildings. Gargoyles grin from high above flapping their stone wings and dusting off centuries. A purple sky looms over the city. He signals for me to follow.

A shot of lightning streaks blue overhead. Golden yellow square windows glow identical on all the buildings. People in small boxes, living lives, resting peacefully, eating dinners, kissing their children goodnight, having details. I enter the alley. This is truly the bowel of hell we shall never have to visit again.

Amber orange, a cigarette’s cherry glows among night in her narrow damp corridors. Smoke emits from his mouth as he speaks.

“Come this way.”

I catch subtle reflection of light off his black rubber gloves. They are motioning me to approach. And I do.

Each step illuminates more of his pale bone like face. The flesh of loose leather drapes off his cheeks. My bare feet splash in shallow puddles.

“I have some friends I would like you to meet.” The stranger says. I stop walking a few feet from him and notice the thick wool shrouds. Bleach white eyes study me and a hand reaches out to touch my shoulder. They are cold, even through the gloves.

“I want to show you my pets.” A curtain falls next to us where a brick wall use to be. “They are the Greckons. Are they not cute?”

Inside a cage are three short, scaled creatures hunched over each other. Fangs glow in the dark and their breath is of rot.

“Yum, yum…” They mutter.

One with large drooping ears wobbles forward. Through the bars, a razor sharp monkey claw reaches for me. Inside its palm is a sparkling gem.

“Hee… hee,” It says pulling the stone from its warty gray flesh. “Take this,” it hisses. “Take it. It will guide you.”

I take the gift. The stone sparkles.

DSCN1098.JPG

Purple shades of sunshine
a window to the ocean
a sea of clams
filled with warm pearls

a salty breeze
flowing through hair
catches a star
without a care.

plucked purple petals
floating in lime juice
meniscus that dies on the dance floor
seeping to the bottom
sugar settling in a syrup
sweet
and the bees go
crazy
buzzing for miles

the hive,
the hive
did you hear about the latest jive?
she's alive,
alive they say,
the queen of the night
It is a passion for you
Alone,
I can not tame,
My heart
Your willing captive.
There engraved,
Is your name.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64664.11
ETH 3166.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11