You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How things work on a court TV show

in #writing6 years ago

I've watched quite a bit of Judge Judy, what, about 20 years back? Wow,

And I am indeed surprised by the $100 number. Not that much, because there's the potential for thousands of dollars. What I am surprised is that the people in management are sticklers even for that.

This makes me wonder though, is there pressure or bias on Judy to award less money, then, as that would also cut into the show's costs?
Or is it not a thing because more payouts also lead to, perhaps, higher ratings?

I did love reading this post though, as I've watched a lot of the show. Somehow when I was younger I thought this was filmed in an actual court, with people willing to be aired, rather than as an extra-judicial system.

And damn, 80% unpaid over 5 years, where are the foreclosure agencies? Guess these people don't have what to pay with.

Sort:  

Judy doesn't give a fuck about the money. Even if CBS attempted to pressure her to award less (which they don't), she'd laugh in their faces. That being said, on principle she never wants to give money away that isn't totally justified in her eyes. In any case, whatever biases she may have, saving CBS money isn't one of them. :)

Yeah, I suspected as much, but it's the obvious next thought :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65733.39
ETH 3506.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51