Rising Hope || Episode one

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

It's been a while I posted, busy with work and family. Welcome to my blog and I hope you are all doing great. This post is the first episode of a short story about how life is so unpredictable.

As a parent, you get to know your child's every step while they are babies, then they grow and start school.

"I will monitor their activities and the friends they keep", you say to yourself.

Then you realise they are getting more and more independent from you when they are admitted into the higher institution where they have to live apart from you. Phew! How do I guide this young one? Many thoughts in your mind.

little-girl-3357282_960_720.jpg
Source

Well, I'm not there yet but I happen to have some friends who do. I try to relate their experience with when I first admitted my first son into the creche. I was at work that day but I wasn't, lol. I missed him so much that I broke down in tears and couldn't wait for closing to pick my little boy!

"Mum, it's just school...", Doris said to her mother. "And besides, I am a big girl now, I can take care of myself, I'll be fine"

"It's just that there are a lot of bad people out there and with the recent rise in crime these days, I don't want anything to happen to you. You are still so young", Rosemary said to her daughter.

"Mum, I'll be fine", Doris said.

Rosemary had struggled to raise Doris after her husband, Jim abandoned her for another woman. She didn't see it coming. One day they were doing great and the next met him packing his things and zooming out of the house as if he was being pursued by an evil spirit. He paid deaf ears to her pleas and endless questions. At first, she thought she must have done something wrong but later had to be strong and move on.

She sat down in the only chair in their one room apartment, after Jim left, she had to move to a smaller apartment as she could not pay the rent for the other one.

"I pray the God of the helpless watch and guide you. Get dressed, let's go to the market to buy some stuffs for you"

"Ooooookay, ma", Doris yelled with excitement. "Thank you, mama. Thank you, thank you, thank you", she screamed as she rushed to her bag to pick something to wear.

Rosemary brightened up as she saw the happiness her daughter displayed. She only had a little money which she had saved from her petty trade. She wished she could spend more on Doris. Doris had been very industrious and understanding. She had been a best friend for her and she knew just how to knock her out of dark moments.

Soon, they were set to go and off to the market they went. They bought some provisions, food stuffs, clothes and books. Rosemary also bought some household items like curtains, plates, spoons and so on for her daughter.

When they got home, Doris was so happy as she unpacked the things they had bought from the market.

"Thank you so much, mum", Doris said as words were not enough to convey her gratitude to her mother.

mother-3229585_960_720.png
Source

"Dodoh", Rosemary called her pet name, "You know you are all I have left. Please, I need you to make me proud. Now, go and prepare something for us to eat and retire for the night. Tomorrow is a big day ahead of us", she told her daughter.

"Okay, mama", Doris said.

That night, Rosemary couldn't sleep. She thought of how Doris can cope without her guidance. What will become of her? How would she react with so much freedom?

"God, please help her as she embarks on this journey of life", she prayed as she finally closed her eyes slowly and drifted off to sleep.

See you around as I drop the next episode later this week.

If you enjoyed this post, kindly Upvote Resteem or/and Follow

Sort:  

Lovely and touching. :)
I also know where they got their picture from - using either DAZ 3D studio or Poser - it's such a good way of dealing with people for pictures, without needing model releases... ;-)

Thank you for commenting @viking-ventures. That's interesting to know as I happen to know little about DAZ 3D studio or Poser!

I've done a bit with it, but I have to admit that I'm not the best at it - though I can certainly make use of other people's work there!
DAZ 3D is free. Poser costs, but has advantages and disadvantages. It's good fun, but can be a bit difficult to learn at first.

That's good to know. Maybe I will try it out one of these days.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by floxycool from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59996.99
ETH 2531.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48