Delay Is Dangerous

in #writing6 years ago

Welcome to my blog Steemians. This is a short story packed full of lessons on why delay is dangerous.

"I don't think I like that boy Joe", Jane said emphatically to her bosom friend Gloria.

"Then why do you allow him to hang around you?", Gloria asked, flipping through the magazine in her hands.

"Just for the fun of it. Can you imagine he has been asking me out for the past two months?", Jane said laughing hysterically.

"Hmm, my friend, I think if you like him you better accept o before this guy changes his mind about you"

"You worry too much, Glo. Besides, there are many fishes in the river"

"I'm telling you o, God will bear me witness. That was how Rose cried her eyes out when she found out that Emeka got engaged to someone else. The same Emeka that has been asking her out for a very long time"

"That's not my portion", Jane said, reflecting on what Gloria had just said. But she brightened up, she is different from Rose she told herself.

pexels-photo-246367.jpeg
Source

Meanwhile Joe was also discussing with his friend in his living room.

"Joe, I don't know why you are killing yourself over that girl. She has been rejecting your proposal but you always find the courage to go back and ask her again. She is not the only girl in this world o", Timothy told Joe.

Joe has been feeling depressed after Jane turned down his proposal once more. He had hoped that she was just playing hard to get but it seems she wasn't interested in him at all. As Joe sat down on the chair, he gave a thought to what Timothy had just said.

"I think you are right. She has made it known to me that she doesn't like me how much more love me. I'll just have to search elsewhere"

"Ehen, now that you are thinking straight, there is one of my cousins I would love to introduce you to. She is a decent girl, one you will definitely love to be with"

"Ah, Timo, why did you wait till now to tell me this now?", Joe teased his friend.

"Because I am now sure you head is not in the clouds any longer"

"So when do I get to meet her?", Joe inquired, not wanting to waste further time.

"Haba! Wait now. I will call her later in the day and see when she can meet up with you"

Joe was happy when he finally got to meet Lilian, Timothy's cousin. She was all that he ever wanted and more. They spent time talking and getting to know each other. Joe found out to his amazement that he and Lilian had many things in common. They went on dates and soon, Joe completely forgot about Jane.

"Jane, come and see something", Gloria said with a loud voice as she walked into the apartment she shared with Jane.

"What is it? Why are you shouting like that as if you won a lottery", Jane said as she wiped her wet hands dry on a napkin.

"Joe is getting married", she said.

"W..What? Which Joe?", Jane asked her.

"The same Joe you know. I went to visit a friend today who is close to him and saw the invitation card to their marriage ceremony"

"Why, why did Joe do this to me?", Jane asked nobody in particular, as she tried to wrap her brain around the situation. She loved Joe but she enjoyed the game she kept playing with him. How was she supposed to know that Joe was not seeing it in the same light?

In the same vein, many have delayed and it wasn't favourable for them. Yours may not be in relationship, it could be in finances, in career, in health, delay is always dangerous.

What you have to do, do quick. Don't keep for tomorrow, what you can do today. Stand up and take that decision, make that change, stand strong.

If you enjoyed this post, kindly Upvote Resteem Follow

Sort:  

Nice story @floxycool.
Trully delay is dangerous...

Yes, it is. Some have to earn the hard way though.

You just received a 20.41% upvote from @honestbot, courtesy of @floxycool!
WaveSmall.gif

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59007.15
ETH 2493.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46