The Creative Writing Challenge - Task #1 - Jealousy, a short story

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

So, I couldn't help myself and I had to finish the task again with this short story for the The Creative Writing Challenge - Task #1. I started it as my main idea, but then in looking at the OP it said an essay (before the update), so I set this one aside and wrote the essay. I couldn't get this one out of my head though so I had to finish it.

The Challenge is:

1). Go to your home library. Pick a random shelf. Take the 7-th book. Open page number 7. Find the 7-th sentence and write a short poem OR a short essay based on what you have read in the sentence. Don’t forget to take a snapshot of the sentence which triggered your creativity to write the post. Include the snapshot at the beginning of your post.

My sentence is, "Jealousy is an excellent clue" and it comes out of "The Artist's Way" and the picture is HERE.


h2_11.90.jpg

Source


Flippant is a word generally ascribed to lesser artists, which is what made the insult sting all the more.

Jax waved his hand in the direction of his work bench, "He called it flippant. What was I supposed to do?"

Mindy walked to the bench and reached her hand towards the clay form sitting in the shadows.

"Please don't," Jax uttered, "it's shit and I know it now".

"You think this is shit, just because that asshole thinks so?" Mindy said as she picked up the sculpture. Walking towards Jax she continued, “why else would you hit him? If you really think it’s shit you wouldn’t have leveled him”.

Jax stared at his feet and kicked his toe at the brick of raw clay sitting on the floor. “He deserved it. He’s always horrible to every other artist. I don’t know what made me think he would be different to me.”

“Well you’re lucky I talked the cops down. They wanted to arrest you for assault.” Mindy said sternly.

“I know I know. But he DID deserve it.” Jax pleaded unsuccessfully.

“That’s really irrelevant and you know it. What is your thing with him? You could just as easily have kept away from him.”

Jax stepped to Mindy and taking the sculpture from her, “he has everything and he does nothing. It’s bullshit.”

“OHHH!” Mindy said, finally understanding she leaned against the wall to listen.

“He has a cadre of people around him bowing and scraping because of his supposed artistic mastery. Well it’s garbage. It’s a complete sham.” Jax kept turning the sculpture in his hands as he talked. “ No one seems to care that he is a giant phony either.”

“You silly man.” Mindy said to Jax as she shook her head in dismay.

“WHAT?!” Why am I silly?!” Jax shouted at Mindy.

“You’re just jealous of him. You are a jealous little boy. It really is silly to be so jealous that it ruins your life. Really you were just about in…”

The sculpture erupted in an explosion of pieces and fragments pelting Mindy’s body and gouging a large hole in the wall.

“You, YOU PSYCHO. You jealous psycho.” Mindy screamed as she ran for the front door of the apartment.

Check out my blog @flemingfarm

OR

You can read my blog series here:

Being a Father and a Farmer can be a struggle
Gardener Gripe - "#gardenergripe"
Time#1.0 - Back Pain
Expectations#2.0 - Weeds
Patience#3.0 - Pests - Gophers

For more information about our farm:
Fleming Family Farm
FLEMING FAMILY FARM, LLC
Sustainable & Organic Methods | Heirloom Produce
All images are original works of Fleming Family Farm unless otherwise notated and credited.

If you find this post useful or entertaining, your support is greatly appreciated by upvoting, resteeming, & following!


Join the SteemitHomesteaders Slack Channel! Image is Invite Link.


http://SteemitHomesteaders.slack.com

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54357.85
ETH 2282.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31