You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Building up to Christmas with Dusty the Demon Hunter - A Blast from the Past - Trouble Times Three - Part 6

in #writing7 years ago

This is indeed one such a GREAT story.

When i read this:

"Dusty believed him because a single tear slid down his face as he thought of his long lost love."

I though "So, he can actually CRY?" and then i answered myself: "Of course he can. He is remembering his true love."

Yes. It all makes sense. :)

Thank you very much for sharing!

Sort:  

Thank you for commenting. You make good observations.

When I write about legendary creatures such as vampires, I put my own stamp on things. I try to use science to explain some of the attributes.

For example, my werewolves have a lot of science intertwined - when a body part (limb) is separated from the wolf-form werewolf, it doesn't automatically return to a human limb - how could it? That part is already 'dead' with no access to energy and without energy, transformation cannot take place.

That's the way i think fantasy is best managed. When you are perfectly aware of the rules in your own universe and make them work in every scenario.

Taking the example of the werewolf's limb. If it returns to its human form, you really have to justify it. Heck, even a "A wizard did it" kinda explanation would work if that's the way your universe rolls.

What you cannot do is pretending to apply the rules every now and then, as long as you see fit. Specially if your main scenario is this same old planet earth.

Unfortunately, there is so many cases out there that i just can't even...

Exactly!

I spent months researching bloodwork and other sciences, fitting them into my werewolves in a way that explained lots of things all at once. I spend ages researching glands, their functions in the body and lots of other things. If that computer had been confiscated, police would have had rare old time with me, I'm sure.

It looked like the browser history of a serial killer!

OMG you just won the internet with that one! >D

I can totally see that in an episode of NCIS...

CSI, surely? I'm not US Military so NCIS wouldn't have jurisdiction... :D

Bleh. You are right. The Law and Order guys then, as usual. ;)

Haha! Sorry... but it has to be correct or someone will pull it apart - I'd rather I did it before the public get their hands on it :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62974.52
ETH 2679.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55